Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
BennyDC
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 03, 2017 3:24 pm
Full Name: Benny De Cock
Contact:

Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by BennyDC » Dec 21, 2018 8:58 am

Hi All

Our current Exchange environment is 2010 and beckedup with Backup Exec 20.3
We are currently setting up a new environmen Exchange 2016 and we want to do the backup with Veeamm B&r 9.5 U3
We have for this 4 vm's with all off them active and passive database mixed.
We configurered a job for it and it went fine we could do a restore with a test mailbox.
Downsize is we have always on are to vms the following warning
20/12/2018 12:41:22 :: VSS: Backup job failed.
Cannot notify writers about the 'BACKUP FINISH' event.
A VSS critical writer has failed. Writer name: [Microsoft Exchange Writer]. Class ID: [{76fe1ac4-15f7-4bcd-987e-8e1acb462fb7}]. Instance ID: [{b2068b97-8b5f-4be9-8f81-72072a39a7fc}]. Writer's state: [VSS_WS_FAILED_AT_BACKUP_COMPLETE]. Error code: [0x800423f3].

If we look at the vss writers on that vm they the exchange one is indeed failed ans we have to restart the Exchange replication service to fix it.
I already did open a case with veeam. The suggest to split the job in 2 and run in with 30 min difference.
That worked non of them failed again. however this isn't my preferered solution. I want to have them in on job if we just could find a way that it process the vm's with a certain time difference is should be fine.

Does anyone has an idea or experience with this?

Thanks,

Benny

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2521
Liked: 526 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by nielsengelen » Dec 21, 2018 10:09 am

Hi Benny, this is a common scenario. With update 4 (coming soon) however, we will have an improvement for DAG clusters by leveraging the Veeam Agent for Windows which will allow you to have 1 job.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3538
Liked: 618 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by Andreas Neufert » Dec 21, 2018 10:24 am

I guess you have not set the needed cluster configuration changes for VMware.

Please check out my blog with tips and tricks and specifically apply the following failover cluster changes.
http://andyandthevms.com/exchange-dag-v ... plication/

cluster /prop SameSubnetThreshold=20:DWORD
cluster /prop SameSubnetDelay=2000:DWORD
cluster /prop CrossSubnetThreshold=20:DWORD
cluster /prop CrossSubnetDelay=4000:DWORD
cluster /prop RouteHistoryLength=40:DWORD

BennyDC
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 03, 2017 3:24 pm
Full Name: Benny De Cock
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by BennyDC » Jan 02, 2019 9:24 am

Thanks Guys for the info

Andreas thanks i did already read that topic from you it's very good but we still have those writers issues

BennyDC
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 03, 2017 3:24 pm
Full Name: Benny De Cock
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by BennyDC » Jan 02, 2019 9:25 am

vmniels wrote:
Dec 21, 2018 10:09 am
Hi Benny, this is a common scenario. With update 4 (coming soon) however, we will have an improvement for DAG clusters by leveraging the Veeam Agent for Windows which will allow you to have 1 job.

Hi vmniels,

Good to know do you have an i dea where i can read this and when update 4 will be there,

Thanks,

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17908
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2016 with Veeam

Post by foggy » Jan 02, 2019 2:39 pm

It's close, stay tuned.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: govi, muhammad and 14 guests