Expected failover behaviour

VMware specific discussions

Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:31 am

Hi,

Is the following failover behaviour as expexted doing a failover of a replica ? :

- planned failover -> source vm is shutted down automatically
- failover -> source vm will stay online
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:46 am

HI,

Failover is performed in the following way: VBR rolls back the VM replica to the required restore point, powers on the VM replica, temporarily puts replication activities for the original VM on hold (until the VM replica is returned to the Normal state) and as the last step all changes made to the VM replica while it is running in the Failover state are written to the delta file of the snapshot, or restore point, to which you have selected to roll back.

When you start the planned failover, VBR performs the following steps:
1. The failover process triggers the replication job to perform an incremental backup and copy the un-replicated changes to the replica.
2. The VM is powered off.
3. The failover process triggers the replication job to perform another incremental backup run and copy the portion of last-minute changes to the replica. The replica becomes fully synchronized with the source VM.
4. The VM is failed over to its replica.
5. The VM replica is powered on.

Note that it is recommended that you always use Veeam Backup & Replication to perform failover operations. Avoid powering on a replica manually — this may disrupt further replication operations or cause loss of important data.

Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:04 am

Thanks !

how about the normal failover ? Will the source VM be powered off automatically ?
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:12 am

No, in a case of basic failover source VM will remained powered-on.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:40 pm

Unlike planned failover, ordinary failover operation is meant to be performed in case of disaster, i.e. when the source VM is already down.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby ken.wilson » Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:56 pm

Shestakov wrote:HI,

Failover is performed in the following way: VBR rolls back the VM replica to the required restore point, powers on the VM replica, temporarily puts replication activities for the original VM on hold (until the VM replica is returned to the Normal state) and as the last step all changes made to the VM replica while it is running in the Failover state are written to the delta file of the snapshot, or restore point, to which you have selected to roll back.

When you start the planned failover, VBR performs the following steps:
1. The failover process triggers the replication job to perform an incremental backup and copy the un-replicated changes to the replica.
2. The VM is powered off.
3. The failover process triggers the replication job to perform another incremental backup run and copy the portion of last-minute changes to the replica. The replica becomes fully synchronized with the source VM.
4. The VM is failed over to its replica.
5. The VM replica is powered on.

Note that it is recommended that you always use Veeam Backup & Replication to perform failover operations. Avoid powering on a replica manually — this may disrupt further replication operations or cause loss of important data.

Thanks.


Do we have a way today to skip step 1 and go right to step 2?

The issue I have when moving replicas is the jobs have been running each night and on many of my smaller machines don't have a lot of changed data anyway. Being able to pick to power the machine down right away to avoid the time it takes to do two replica passes would be a great advantage to me since it's a planned failover anyway.

Thanks.
ken.wilson
Service Provider
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Canda
Full Name: Ken Wilson

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:02 pm

Hello Ken,
I believe there is no way to skip the first step. Could you specify what kind of problem do you have with the planned failover starting a replication job twice?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby ken.wilson » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:40 pm

Hello,

I don't have a problem with it as the failover works great the only issue I have is for smaller machines.

For example we use replica jobs to move machines between data centres. Most of these machines are small and don't have a lot of daily changes. When I have to move 50+ machines I like to use planned fail over to move them in case I have to move them back or something goes wrong.

The issue I have is each vm gets processed twice even when the first job has a small amount of changes. I was hoping or would like the ability to skip the first online pass (an option) so it shuts down the vm first then proceeds to the replica job then brings it online.

This is just to speed up the processing time of getting the virtual machines powered on at the replica site.

I have read over the documentation and tested out the fail over options and don't see a way to get this done. I even shutdown the vm first then ran the planned fail over but it still runs the replication twice.

I realize this is probably by design I just wanted to check (and make a feature request if possible) as I have to move a hundred or so machines next weekend and uptime is not an issue but waiting for all them to finish is [emoji3]

Thanks.
ken.wilson
Service Provider
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Canda
Full Name: Ken Wilson

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:44 pm

I personally think it makes sense since the second replication when the VM is powered down will catch anyway the latest changes, but I guess the first online pass is needed for VSS-aware machines like domain controllers so we can then trigger during restore the AD restore mode. Maybe an option to exclude the online pass for certain machines would help.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Expected failover behaviour

Veeam Logoby ken.wilson » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:57 pm

Thanks for the reply and I didn't fully think about the DC/VSS apps but that does make sense from a restore preservative so I get why it's done by default. Having an option to move smaller / non VSS machines without the double pass would be nice to speed things up when using a replica to move a vm but at least I know now it's be design for a good reason.

Thanks!
ken.wilson
Service Provider
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Canda
Full Name: Ken Wilson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: virginel and 25 guests