Hi, Chris - wrong conclusion on your part here I am afraid
if you did not save the change, then removing and readding makes no difference to the job settings, as the existing job configuration is not touched. In reality, looks like something else has happened in vCenter in parallel with your doing so, and then jobs simply started working. For example, Inventory Service may sometime take extended time to update, and until this happens - VMs will be shown as disconnected (vCenter knows they "were" there before, but no longer sure they are "still" there until they are all re-queried). Thanks!