Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

VMware specific discussions

Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby Vmagic » Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:14 pm

Hi,

Our esx-hosts have 10GbE nics connected to a distributed swich. However, we chose to put the management interface(vmkernel port) on 1GbE nics and standard vswitch, just for the sake of safety/separation. I would like to use NBD mode since the hot add operations can be slow, but then Im hitting the 1GbE limit. Is there a way(register-hack etc) to force Veeam to use a different nic?
Vmagic
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:19 am

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:05 pm

Hi Vmagic,

Please tell me - what kind of repo do you use and how distant from the host it is?
Also what about proxies, do you use any?


Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby Vmagic » Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:14 pm

Hi,

2 source proxy which are VMs running on the esx-cluster that I am backuping up VMs from. Running virtual appliance mode at the moment, but as I mentioned, I want to skip the hot-add process since it takes time and we have 10GbE nics in each host that have bandwidth available for backups etc.
Repo is a Hp DL380 G7 connected to two DataON Storage JBODs running storage spaces with tiering and a 100TB volume. Repo is in DR site which is connected to main site via 2 dark fibers (20Gbit bandwidth).
Vmagic
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:19 am

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:17 pm

In your configuration you have VBR --> ProxyVM --> ESXi

All backup/replica activity is performed against .vmdks and involves OS freezes, snapshot operations etc. All this magic is managed by ESXi host, which means that NBD commands issued by backup software have to be handled by VMkernel TCP/IP stack, which is strictly tied to your 1Gb NIC...

Considering all of the above, you have only three options:

1) upgrade your management NIC
2) use hot-add mode
3) get another management network on your vDS

Personally I'd stick to hot-add, because if you use NBD you will get an extra network overhead right between your proxy and ESXi.

I agree that hot-adding may take some time, but I'm curious how big is the difference between these modes in your case? Have you already compared the overall backup time for both?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby Vmagic » Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:11 pm

Forced a proxy to run NBD mode and looked at a job containing 2 sql-servers running once every hour. Hot-add took 40-50 min, NBD taking approximately 25 minutes.
Vmagic
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:19 am

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:39 pm

Ok, I see.

Btw, what is the reason behind your solution to assign management role to a dedicated vSwitch? You've mentioned safety/separation, could you elaborate on that, please?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby Vmagic » Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:56 pm

We basically just had a bunch of 1Gbit ports available after we moved from 1Gbit to 10Gbit and thought I might be good to have a bit of separation. If the 10Gbit nic dies, then well still have management. I did not know at the time that Veeam pulled backup-data through this interface. Easiest way is probably to move management to the distributed swtich.
Vmagic
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:19 am

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jul 03, 2015 3:08 pm

Can you add your 1Gb NICs to distributed switch so they work in team with 10Gb so in case of failure management migrates to 1Gb?
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:05 pm

With NBD mode the proxy connects to the host using the IP or DNS name has provided to it by vCenter. If vCenter knows the host by the management interface then that is the interface the proxy will attempt to connect to. If you want the Veeam traffic to use a specific network then you'll need to get the proxy to use that specific NIC using one of the following two options:

1. Host tables - If your ESXi host are registered with vCenter using DNS names then you can use host table entries on the proxy so that the proxy resolves to the IP address of the secondary NIC.

2. Routing - With this option you place the proxy on the same network with the secondary NIC and then add static routes to the primary IP address of the ESXi host via the secondary IP. You'd need a static route on the proxy for every individual ESXi host. I like this method less than the first, however, it has the advantage that it can work even if the ESXi host are registered with vCenter by IP address.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:35 am

Btw, there was a similar topic back in 2013, please review.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Force NBD mode to use non-mgmt vmk nic

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:42 am

Tom is correct. That said, the secondary NIC still must have management interface enabled on it, otherwise NBD will not be possible.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ERecker, mfo and 31 guests