Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mcmcomput
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 17, 2014 2:48 am
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by mcmcomput » Jan 29, 2015 5:20 pm

I am having some issues for some new backup jobs to some re-purposed HP servers. Below are my stats.
Load: Source 2% > Proxy 8% > Network 0% > Target 99%
Processing rate 5Mb/s and took 7:36 to replicate 380Gb of which it actually transferred 139.6GB
Source
Dell R710, 2x X5570 @ 2.93/4 cores ea, Perc H700-512Mb w/ 6x 15k 300Gb hard drives in a RAID10. 9VMs w/ 380Gb ESXi v5.1
ProxyDifferent physical server than Source)
Dell R710, 2x X5570 @ 2.93/4 cores ea
Network
900Mb VLS from DC to DR Site (Layer 2)
Target
HP DL180 G6, 2x X5675 @ 3.07/6 cores ea, HP P410-256Mb w/ 8x 7.2rpm SATA 4TB hybrid drives in a RAID10. ESXi v5.5

How can I better identify the bottleneck? Both Veeam Proxy's at both sites are on the same VLan as ESXi. I assume it would be disk, but I can run the below utilities during my backup process and shows I still have plenty of read/write power from the RAID.
AnvilPro Storage Utility
77.09MB/s read for Seq 4Mb / 72.75Mb/s for Seq 4Mb write.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23067
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 29, 2015 8:45 pm

What is your backup mode for the backup job (forward or reversed incremental) and what is the Veeam B&R version you're using?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18359
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by foggy » Jan 29, 2015 9:31 pm

And also what type of backup repository is involved?

I also didn't get "ESXi v5.5" here, is it a host where VM holding the repository resides? Or are we talking about replication jobs?
mcmcomput wrote:Target
HP DL180 G6, 2x X5675 @ 3.07/6 cores ea, HP P410-256Mb w/ 8x 7.2rpm SATA 4TB hybrid drives in a RAID10. ESXi v5.5

mcmcomput
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 17, 2014 2:48 am
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by mcmcomput » Jan 30, 2015 9:02 am

-Its a replication job from my production servers to a DR server.
-Destination is the DR server / Internal RAID10 storage.
-The Repository for replica meta data is a 100Gb partition also on the same RAID10 destination server.
- Veeam B&R v8.0.0.917 Enterprise

That answer the questions?

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by alanbolte » Jan 30, 2015 10:15 am

-The repository for replica metadata should be on the source side, not the destination.
-Double check your job statistics to be certain the correct target-side proxy is in use. What transport mode is listed (hotadd/nbd)?
-If you've been using a physical target-side proxy, try configuring a virtual proxy as an isolation test.

mcmcomput
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 17, 2014 2:48 am
Full Name: Mike
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by mcmcomput » Feb 01, 2015 7:49 pm

After researching it I think my issue was the HP P400 controller. I had the latest firmware, but i had a spare P812 laying around and after swapping it out get approx 100MB/s on my backup speed with the source as the bottleneck :) I am happy with these results.

In a month or two i will be sending this equipment to our Dallas data center. We have several TB that is replicated and I have changed the compression to extreme and target to WAN.
Q. Is there any added benefit to have replica seeding turned on after I already have replica's on the target side? Where should the seeding data reside, source or target site?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18359
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Identfying Bottleneck Issues

Post by foggy » Feb 01, 2015 9:11 pm

I still recommend specifying the source side repository for storing replica metadata.
mcmcomput wrote:Q. Is there any added benefit to have replica seeding turned on after I already have replica's on the target side?
No.
mcmcomput wrote:Where should the seeding data reside, source or target site?
Target.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], mrmccoy007 and 41 guests