Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
extremesanity
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas
Contact:

Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by extremesanity » Nov 03, 2014 7:02 pm

I'm running version Version 7.0.0.871.

I perform an instant recovery of a VM, leaving the VM powered down. I then edit the VM, changing the network on the single adapter. After the VM is finished configuring, two networks show up instead of the network being replaced with the new network assigned. What am I missing here?

Screenshot:
http://imgur.com/ri9bYdB

Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23299
Liked: 1628 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 04, 2014 2:19 pm

Hi Lucas,

Do you say that previous VM settings are reverted back when you power it on after modifying the number of NICs?

Thanks!

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 636
Liked: 159 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by nefes » Nov 04, 2014 2:32 pm

As far as I know, it is display bug in VMWare, take a look at this KB article: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/2008231
You can try to make same action with some dummy VM, power it on and make sure, that it have no connection to production network.

extremesanity
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by extremesanity » Nov 04, 2014 6:21 pm

nefes wrote:As far as I know, it is display bug in VMWare, take a look at this KB article: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/2008231
You can try to make same action with some dummy VM, power it on and make sure, that it have no connection to production network.
I don't see a connection between this KB article and my problem:
- no vmware migration is taking place
- no virtual switch to distributed switch migration is taking place
- no snapshots are being taken or exist

extremesanity
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by extremesanity » Nov 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Lucas,
Do you say that previous VM settings are reverted back when you power it on after modifying the number of NICs?
Thanks!
I don't understand. There is one NIC when it is powered off, one NIC when it is powered on. I only need to change the VM network associated with the single NIC in order for two networks to show up. It doesn't make sense, two networks on a single NIC.

Note, I have tested this with the same VM that is in production. I can change networks on the production VM without multiple networks being displayed. This is related to something surrounding Veeam and Instant Recovery.

extremesanity
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by extremesanity » Nov 04, 2014 6:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Quick update, I think this has something to do with redirecting changes to a datastore instead of to the backup repository. Testing...

*Edit:
I've confirmed that this only occurs when redirecting changes to a datastore. Steps to reproduce:

instant recovery
restore to a new location, or with different settings
redirect virtual disk updates (then select VMWare datastore)
unchecked > connect VM to network
unchecked > power on VM automatically
change network on single NIC after VM is mounted
now two networks show up on single NIC in VMWare

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23299
Liked: 1628 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 04, 2014 10:06 pm

Thanks, Lucas. I will ask our QC team to confirm that behavior.

extremesanity
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 31, 2014 3:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas
Contact:

Re: Instant recovery and editing network problem - #00669809

Post by extremesanity » Nov 04, 2014 10:22 pm

Received this back from support:
I've been doing some research on this. It seems as though this is by VMware design. Because there are snapshots on the VM, and those snaps are configured to use that network, that network will show up under configuration, even if it is only configured to use the new network. This is to prevent the old network from being removed, and thus causing a potentially reverted-to snapshot encountering errors. Its fine that its still there because there are snaps still present, if your VM is configured to use the new network, it will use the new network.
I tested with a snapshot on a production VM and verified the behavior. If the snapshot is deleted after the network is changed it removes the old network. It only keeps both networks when there is a snapshot.

I consider this matter closed. Thanks all!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests