Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 00723129

VMware specific discussions

Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 00723129

Veeam Logoby massimiliano.rizzi » Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:56 pm

Hello experts,

first and foremost, Happy New Year. :)

As part of a VMware vSphere 5.1 Cluster migration to new hardware for an existing Veeam B&R customer, I am testing the use of replication jobs in our lab to do that (using Veeam B&R GA version 8.0.0.817 + Patch #1).

When I trigger a Planned Failover Job, after the incremental replication pass I get the error below:

==================================================
Image
==================================================

I went through support this morning in order to take a deeper look into this. During the remote session we have changed the logging level to 6 (ultimate level) and reproduced the issue, then we have collected both the log files and a backup of the Veeam Backup SQL Database.

Since the Veeam B&R installation in our lab has been upgraded from previous versions to current version, this afternoon I reproduced the issue using a fresh installation of Veeam B&R (GA version 8.0.0.817 + Patch #1), however the issue persists.

Any suggestions and thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Regards,

Massimiliano
massimiliano.rizzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:56 am
Full Name: Massimiliano Rizzi

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby mabeeston » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:29 pm

I also get this issue on a 5.1 cluster, Veeam v8 patch 1.

I need to try a failover on our other clusters.
mabeeston
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:43 pm
Full Name: Mark Beeston

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:22 am

While you're waiting for our support team to respond and investigate the debug logs, you can failover to the DR VM manually (in case of emergency) via starting it via vSphere Client.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby mabeeston » Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:22 pm

Using 'Failover Now' within Veeam works for me, its just Planned Failover that gets the OIB error
mabeeston
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:43 pm
Full Name: Mark Beeston

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:59 pm

Ok, got it. Let me check this issue with devs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby massimiliano.rizzi » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:57 pm

Hello,

first of all thank you for taking the time to reply to my question.

I have been in touch with the engineers over the last couple of days and the case has now been escalated to the next tier.

I will report back as soon as I hear from the next tier engineers.

Thanks and Regards,

Massimiliano
massimiliano.rizzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:56 am
Full Name: Massimiliano Rizzi

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:54 pm

Guys,

It appears to be a known issue for planned failover job. It can only reproduced when the number of restore points is set to 1, our dev team is already aware about it. As a workaround for now, you can adjust retention policy settings.

Thanks for the heads up!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby mabeeston » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:35 pm

Excellent - I'd been using Veeam replication to migrate between separate clusters and ,yes, I've had the restore points set to 1 - I shall try it with 2!
mabeeston
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:43 pm
Full Name: Mark Beeston

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby massimiliano.rizzi » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:19 pm 2 people like this post

mabeeston wrote:Excellent - I'd been using Veeam replication to migrate between separate clusters and ,yes, I've had the restore points set to 1


Same here.

I heard back from the support engineer yesterday. Here is the reply:

==================================================
When planned failover is started, it triggers 2 more runs of replication job in order to completely synchronize it with the production VM. Assuming that the job is set to keep only 1 restore point, the one that existed before you started planned failover is removed and we fail because we are not able to find it.
==================================================

By request of the engineer, I have increased the amount of restore points to keep 3 and everything works perfect. I have also tried to increase the amount of restore points to keep only 2 out of curiosity and everything works perfect as well. :D

Thanks everybody for taking the time to reply to my question.

Massimiliano
massimiliano.rizzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:56 am
Full Name: Massimiliano Rizzi

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:53 am

Corresponding KB article has been just created. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby massimiliano.rizzi » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:38 pm 1 person likes this post

v.Eremin wrote:Corresponding KB article has been just created. Thanks.


Thanks for the heads up !
massimiliano.rizzi
Service Provider
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:56 am
Full Name: Massimiliano Rizzi

[MERGED] Planned failover restore points

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:19 am

Hi,

regarding KB http://www.veeam.com/kb1997. Can be explained why the restore points need to be increased to 3 ?

Will it be possible in future versions that this can be configured with 1 restore point ?
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Issue with failed Planned Failover Job // Case # 0072312

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Apr 12, 2015 1:21 pm

Yes, currently this is a limitation, but we are planning to address this behavior in the following product updates.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests