Large restore to remote site

VMware specific discussions

Large restore to remote site

Veeam Logoby tmx » Thu Nov 19, 2015 5:16 pm

We have a customer running three vmWare esxi hosts in three locations. Location A hosts the veeam server and main repository, Locations B & C host Veeam Backup Proxies.

We are planning a disk upgrade at location B. If we were to create a repository on the location B proxy and run a full backup to that repository, will the data only have to flow within the location B LAN?
Whether we backup as above, or hand carry a full backup file to site, to restore the VM Hard Disks, if we run the restore from Location A to restore from Location B's local repository to Location B's esxi server, will we purely be pushing the data across LAN B, ie with no or limited data traffic over the WAN back to the Veeam server at A?
tmx
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:33 pm
Full Name: Kevin Rowland

Re: Large restore to remote site

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:56 am

We are planning a disk upgrade at location B. If we were to create a repository on the location B proxy and run a full backup to that repository, will the data only have to flow within the location B LAN?

Correct, as long as you leverage proxy and repository deployed at B site.

Whether we backup as above, or hand carry a full backup file to site, to restore the VM Hard Disks, if we run the restore from Location A to restore from Location B's local repository to Location B's esxi server, will we purely be pushing the data across LAN B, ie with no or limited data traffic over the WAN back to the Veeam server at A?

For file-level or item-level recovery it's recommended to have a "cold" console at site B to avoid traffic crossing the wire in both directions.

VM Hard disks restore, Full VM restores should be fully isolated to site B, even if executed from site A.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Large restore to remote site

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:49 am

v.Eremin wrote:For file-level or item-level recovery it's recommended to have a "cold" console at site B to avoid traffic crossing the wire in both directions.

In v9 though, we're adding mount server to address this.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests