Locked VM's

VMware specific discussions

Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Stampede » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:01 pm

Hi All,

I'm having a reoccuring issue with 2 or 3 of my VM's. The issue is they get locked in vSphere and prevent Veeam from backing them up. Now I can do a backup if I shut down the VM and run Veeam as that lifts the lock. The issue is, doing a shutdown every time I need to do a backup isn't practical in our business environment.

The VM's are primarily SQL databases, and I have enabled quiescence but it still doesn't let Veeam in. I've been searching every resource I can find but I still haven't found a solution. Has anyone found a good work around for this issue?

Thanks,
Peter
Stampede
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 5:28 pm
Full Name: Peter Cha

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:19 pm

Peter, do you see any specific messages in the job session log? Have you contacted support already (as it is advised to do with any technical issue)?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Feb 08, 2016 3:18 pm

Are you able to create VM snapshot for these VMs while they are running?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Stampede » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:48 pm

Hi foggy, Vitaliy,

The reason in the log is: "Error: File does not exist or locked. VMFS path: [[ESX5_IS01] QCDB/QCDB.vmx]. Please, try to download specified file using connection to the ESX server where the VM registered. Failed to create NFC download stream. NFC path: "

I havn't opened a support ticket for this issue yet.

I am going to take the snapshot but I will wait until this evening as this is a critical system that is being actively used. So once it's free of any users I will create the snapshot, and then remove it. Actually would the best practice in this case be to merge the back to the original snapshot, or to just delete the old new snapshot? I would be able to just delete it, so as not to interrupt VM activity by merging.

Thanks,
Peter
Stampede
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 5:28 pm
Full Name: Peter Cha

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:41 am

Hi Peter,

There are existing topics with a similar issue, opening a support case would be the right decision if you want to make it work > Error: File does not exist or locked.

Stampede wrote:Actually would the best practice in this case be to merge the back to the original snapshot, or to just delete the old new snapshot? I would be able to just delete it, so as not to interrupt VM activity by merging.

Just click delete all/consolidate to merge data from the snapshot to a virtual disk of the VM. Based on the error message above, you don't need to do that, as vmx lock issues is not related to the snapshot operation.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Stampede » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:06 pm 2 people like this post

Ok, interesting journey to my solution. Hopefully this helps anyone who experiences something similar.
So I searched through all the help docs and tried everything. I submitted a ticket with Veeam and VMware and ran through the suggestions both offered.
Snapshot's worked, after returning the VM's to their original host which was holding the lock (as determined by the MAC address) I was able to download the VMX file locally, but VEEAM still kept erroring out.
I even restarted the host, and then created a generic VM removed the data stores from the old and attached it to the new. Then I made sure to remove the old VM from inventory. The VM ran great, but Veeam still failed due to locked VMDK/VMX.

There was a great tech support specialist, Antony, on Veeam Phone Support that saved the day. He realized the version of Veeam was outdated and a patch to v8 fixed the issue. What is frustrating is I downloaded the latest version of Veeam from the website maybe 2 months ago, so I'm not sure why I would have an ancient version of the software. Literally first release of the software, old. Luckily I got an update patch which brought my version up to speed and then allowed all backups to process normally.
So if your having this same type of lock problem, check your Veeam version first! This is a known error on the early v8 releases. My current version of Backup & Replication v8 is 8.0.0.2084.

Here is the update patch link, http://www.veeam.com/kb2068


Thanks everyone for all your help!
Peter
Stampede
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 5:28 pm
Full Name: Peter Cha

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:49 pm

Hi Peter,

Thanks for taking time to post your solution. One tip to avoid these situations in future - Anton is sending Veeam Community Digest email every weekend with all information about patches, updates and other important news, so it's worth looking it through.

P.S. I will pass your appreciation to the support engineer.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Stampede » Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:22 pm

Thanks Vitaliy,

Be sure to thank Bryan for me as well!
Thank you for the tip, I didn't know that.

:D :D
Peter
Stampede
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 5:28 pm
Full Name: Peter Cha

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby lando_uk » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:04 am

It's annoying that the base install image of VBR is always the first release, you then have to run the updates. It would be nice when an major update comes that that the base image is also updated, like VMware/Windows etc offers.
lando_uk
Expert
 
Posts: 236
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:19 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your feedback! While this is definitely very useful to have the ISO image always updated, but releasing a new ISO (aka maintenance release) is a significant overhead for our R&D that we prefer to avoid, unless absolutely necessary. However, we do understand potential downsides of this approach and are thinking on how to address this in future releases.

Thank you for your understanding.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby lando_uk » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:17 pm

Something in the initial setup that connects to your servers to see if there are any pending updates then downloads and installs, so new users are always on the latest build.
lando_uk
Expert
 
Posts: 236
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark

Re: Locked VM's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:49 am

Product auto-update feature! Yes, this should be a good way our for this situation.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests