Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

VMware specific discussions

Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:08 pm

We're shrinking from 3 to two sites and the one we're losing ("Site C") is the one that currently a replica/backup copy destination for our main site "Site A". We have another site ("Site B") that will become the new destination for Site A's replicas/backup copies. Site B also has a local B&R server.

The copies/replicas on site C are sitting on a FC SAN which we will be lifting & shifting to Site B but the B&R server at Site C will not be moving with it.

Similar to an earlier question of mine, what are the implications of moving a repository & its contents to another pre-existing B&R server? Should it just be a case of calculating digests (after importing the backup files to the new "owner" B&R server) or are the other considerations to take into account?

We're having a right shuffle around and I'm just trying to minimise the impact on backups...

Paul
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:18 pm

That pre-existing backup server currently knows nothing about the VMs that it is going to backup copy/replicate from Site A, right? So you would have to create completely new jobs there.

Regarding replication, you would need to map the jobs to existing replicas, which will require digests re-calculation during the first run to sent only differences between the original and replica VM.

Regarding the backup copies, are you backing up VMs using the backup server in site A? What server will be responsible for the backup copy jobs after the move?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:04 am

foggy wrote:That pre-existing backup server currently knows nothing about the VMs that it is going to backup copy/replicate from Site A, right? So you would have to create completely new jobs there.


Knows nothing, correct, but it will still know nothing after the change, the jobs will continue to run at primary site.

foggy wrote:Regarding replication, you would need to map the jobs to existing replicas, which will require digests re-calculation during the first run to sent only differences between the original and replica VM.


OK, that's useful at least.

foggy wrote:Regarding the backup copies, are you backing up VMs using the backup server in site A? What server will be responsible for the backup copy jobs after the move?


Yes, and will continue to do so.

I do have a design of current & new plans in Visio, will try to find a way of attaching them here (always happy to hear of better ways of doing things!)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:06 am

Hmm, how can I attach a design .PDF doc here??
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:49 am

You can share it via dropbox or something.

So for backup copies, only repository is changed, so you can use these instructions to proceed with incremental chains.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:52 am

Thanks, I'm hoping it's fairly straightforward in practice.

Link to my current & proposed designs is at https://www.dropbox.com/s/bv0lvrzmxvyev ... 6.pdf?dl=0
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Migrating a set of repositories to new site/server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:35 pm

Looks solid. A little note regarding "Veeam cannot backup itself", it actually can, however this is not typically required due to configuration backup functionality.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests