Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
mrmicp
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Michael Price

New to Veeam, just a couple of questions

Post by mrmicp »

Hi Folks,

Well I stumbled across veeam while looking for the best way to setup DR on VM's at our small site and from what I can see and have read I'm very impressed. At first glance it seems a lot more easier, feature rich and reliable than VMware's options.

We have two buildings on site conncted via fibre currently limited to 1gbps and three esxi hosts spilt across these buildings. My evenutal plan is to do a P2V conversion of our Exchange 2010 server and setup replication between the buildings.

So as i'm new to this and there is a lot to consider I thought maybe I could ask your advice on a couple of questions...

1) What is ideal setup is in regards to putting the proxy, repositories and Veeam B&R servers on physical or VM's
2) Is it advisable or not to share roles wherever possible and if so what roles
3) When I get Exchange running on a VM, I assume the right way will be to do a continous replication. Is this the only method to keep data upto date across the two hosts

Thanks for any help and advice it will hopefully get me going in the right direction :D
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: New to Veeam, just a couple of questions

Post by veremin »

What is ideal setup is in regards to putting the proxy?
You can probably implement onsite replication scenario, using one proxy model, when both of the agents are being run on one proxy server.

However, since all of features like throttling rules, compression, etc, are implemented between two agents, two-proxy replication scheme can also be your choice. For instance, if want for your data to cross the network in compressed state, or you’re willing to prevent jobs from utilizing the entire bandwidth available in your environment, and so on.
Veeam B&R servers on physical or VM's