Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 328
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Nodeum

Post by lowlander » Sep 04, 2019 7:37 am

Hi there,

i just recently came in contact with Nodeum as a product ( https://www.nodeum.io ). Is there a use case for this product in combination with Veeam, and has anyone experience with this combination ?

thanks !

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 489
Liked: 80 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Nodeum

Post by ejenner » Oct 08, 2019 2:44 pm

I don't think so. All backup products must have the capability of controlling storage. Different products depending on maturity of development offer differing levels of the control of the storage.

Furthermore, adding a layer between the backup product and the storage it uses could create a barrier limiting the functionality of the backup product.

vguilleaume
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 27, 2019 5:31 am
Full Name: Valery Guilleaume
Contact:

Re: Nodeum

Post by vguilleaume » Nov 27, 2019 5:37 am

Hi lowlander,

I have been through different use cases with Nodeum (http://www.nodeum.io) and Veeam, and I will be happy to circle back to you to delailed them. In general it is when the Veeam target target is a hybrid storage composed by different nature of storage. Or other when the Veeam backup has to be moved into different locations. ....

If you can share any further details about what you want to achieve , let me know and I can elaborate more from there.

Or don't hesitate to MP me or contact me by email.

Valery

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 4225
Liked: 778 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Nodeum

Post by Andreas Neufert » Nov 27, 2019 8:31 am 1 person likes this post

Such storage is not supported by Veeam:
See limitation regarding offload NAS/CIFS/block storage to object storage here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4
And NAS/CIFS/block offload to tape here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4

The reason for this is that Veeam needs to actively interact with the data on disk (metadata inside the backup files).

We recommend to use our built-in capabilities to offload older data to object storage or tape:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests