- Posts: 1
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 29, 2017 6:53 pm
- Full Name: Theresa Whitney
When I have a backup job that I no longer need I have been marking the job "disable". But I have noticed that the restore points for the servers associated with this job are not aging off.
Should I instead just disable the schedule for that job instead of disabling the whole job? And if I re-enable the job and disable the schedule will the aging of restore points start up automatically? Could I force the aging to occur?
If this is process is incorrect ... what is the recommended process for the situation I have described - servers that I no longer need to backup but want the restore points to age off as appropriate.
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5585
- Liked: 533 times
- Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Disabling job schedule is in fact the same thing as pressing "Disable" in the drop-down menu.
There are several options:
1. If you don't need those restore points anymore, then you should just delete them from the "Backups - Disk" node.
2. You can remove the VMs from the job and use "Retention for deleted objects"
But, as far as I understand your request, you want the backups to be merged/deleted by retention just as if the job was still active, but without creation of new restore points, is that correct?
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests