Onsite and Offsite VM Replica's

VMware specific discussions

Onsite and Offsite VM Replica's

Veeam Logoby yohan4ws » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:20 pm

Hey All,

I've been looking for an answer to this without luck.

Quick Synopsis of my environment:

HostA - Contains 24 active VM's /appliances including 1 SQL and 1 DB2 server.

HosbB - Runs Windows vCenter Server 5 and Veeam B&R 9.

Replication Job:
All VM's from Host A to Host B local in same site. If Host A fails, I will manually failover to the replica's in Host B using Veeam.

The hole in this scenario is that I have no offsite backup.

Everything I have read says to make a local backup (not replication) and then create the offsite replication from those backup copies.

Wondering peoples feedback, what is the best way to hold replica's in 2 locations that way if the site falls under disaster (fire/flood/tornado etc.) I can quickly spin up the VM's in remote location from host C.

Thanks!
yohan4ws
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: Onsite and Offsite VM Replica's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:39 am

Yes, having replicas in remote location to be able to quickly failover in case of losing the site is indeed one of the best practices. Using local backup as a source for remote replication jobs is an optimal way to achieve that without touching production VMs twice (for backup and replication).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Onsite and Offsite VM Replica's

Veeam Logoby yohan4ws » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:28 pm

Yes, Foggy, but do I then have to create a local backup (I guess onto 2ndary media usb3 or whatever) and then run 2 replication jobs from that backup one to local one to offsite ?? This process will end up being very timely and tax the vmhost pretty hard ....

Was really hoping their might be a way for the offline replica's to be able to timely replicate themselves offsite and skip the local backup altogether.

For the DB servers I like to have 2 hour incremental replications happening throughout the day in case I do need to failover then any loss is minimal.
yohan4ws
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: Onsite and Offsite VM Replica's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:42 pm

If you need to keep both local and remote replicas, you have to run two replication jobs. However, if they both use backup as a source, production host will not be touched at all (it will be touched just once during local backup creation).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest