OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Vejete » Fri May 05, 2017 9:24 pm

Trying to add a StoreOnce Catalyst store as a backup repository using Catalyst over Fiber Channel (COFC).

  • Veeam B&R Enterprise edition
  • Catalyst store added to StoreOnce appliance.
  • Permission checking disabled in Catalyst options on StoreOnce.
  • StoreOnce is running 3.13.5 software.
  • StoreOnce credentials being used verified as correct.
  • tul-bkup01 is zoned to the StoreOnce, and COFC devices appear in Device Manager.
  • tul-bkup01 has been added to VBR Infrastructure as an MS-Windows host.
  • tul-bkup01 is running Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1.
  • A different ISV backup app using tul-bkup01 has no trouble whatsoever communicating with Catalyst stores via COFC.
  • Trying to use Veeam to communicate via COFC from tul-bkup01 to StoreOnce results in the error shown below when you click "Next".

Image

I'm at a loss as to why Veeam cannot access the list of Catalyst stores from tul-bkup01 via COFC, when a different backup app has no difficulty at all doing that very thing.

BTW, when I uncheck "Use Fibre Channel (FC) connectivity" and click "Next", everything is fine with CoIP. So this appears to be related specifically to COFC.

All help appreciated.
=====
Jim Turner, VMCE
Master Technologist & BURA Evangelist
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Vejete
Technology Partner
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:23 pm
Location: Edmond, OK
Full Name: Jim Turner

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sat May 06, 2017 9:02 am 1 person likes this post

Did you by any chance contact support already in regards to this? There is probably more info in the logs and they can assist u with this.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1884
Liked: 406 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Vejete » Sat May 06, 2017 4:04 pm

Thanks Niels, that's probably the best idea at this point. Will open a support case on Monday. And I will reply with the cause and solution once the issue is resolved.
=====
Jim Turner, VMCE
Master Technologist & BURA Evangelist
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Vejete
Technology Partner
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:23 pm
Location: Edmond, OK
Full Name: Jim Turner

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Sun May 07, 2017 7:10 pm

FYI, I just deployed a brand-new StoreOnce VSA (1TB free one) and am running into similar errors after successfully adding it, but trying to use it during a backup. Unlike you @vejete, I am using Ethernet for transport, not FC. I, however, can't open a case because it's an NFR/lab environment.

other details:
1) VBR: 9.5.0.823
2) StoreOnce: 3.16.2-1712.1
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 08, 2017 3:04 pm

Owners of NFR license are eligible for support. If I remember it correctly NFR license does not have a support ID, so to open a case you will need to call support instead of using web support portal. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14722
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Mon May 08, 2017 3:36 pm

I did open a case by phone, and logs have been submitted for review. Case 02149229 for those "following along at home" :D
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Vejete » Thu May 11, 2017 6:30 pm 1 person likes this post

=====> SOLVED! <=====

Failure was caused by pilot error. Veeam was trying to tell me what it wanted, and I wasn't listening.

With the Use Fibre Channel (FC) connectivity box unchecked, we will use IP to communicate with the StoreOnce appliance. Thus you will provide either a FQDN or IP address in the field for HPE StoreOnce server name.

Image

With the Use Fibre Channel (FC) connectivity box checked, we will use FC to communicate with the StoreOnce appliance. Veeam gratuitously adds a "COFC-" prefix in the field for HPE StoreOnce server name because it is expecting a COFC identifier from the StoreOnce appliance.

Image

And that's where I was making a mistake by still providing the IP address which resulted in the Veeam transport trying to communicate with the appliance using a non-existent COFC identifier.

What I should have realized from Veeam's coaxing with the pre-inserted "COFC-" is that I needed to get the actual COFC identifier from the appliance. That is found through the StoreOnce web interface.

  1. Expand StoreOnce
  2. Select StoreOnce Catalyst
  3. Click the Fibre Channel Settings tab
  4. Copy the value of Identifier from the top section

Image

Once we inserted the proper COFC identifier in Veeam, all was well!

In my feeble defense, HPE Data Protector utilizes a Catalyst client API call to query the COFC identifier using the appliance's IP address or FQDN so that the user does not have to worry about how to retrieve the COFC identifier manually. It's the same API baked-in to the Veeam transport, so perhaps one day Veeam will also simplify this configuration step and "hide" the COFC identifier part. :-)

Thank you all for your interest and replies. God bless.
=====
Jim Turner, VMCE
Master Technologist & BURA Evangelist
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Vejete
Technology Partner
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:23 pm
Location: Edmond, OK
Full Name: Jim Turner

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Thu May 11, 2017 6:49 pm 2 people like this post

My error was also solved; in the case of the Ethernet-attached, the Mode 6 bonding wasn't working on the VSA. Any additional NICs that are present on the VSA are solely meant for VLAN access, not additional throughput.
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby cgeorge » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:32 am

I have the same error and I am using the correct fibre channel identifier, but I still get the error?
cgeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:59 pm
Full Name: Carol George

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:46 am

Did you have checked the fibrechannel zoning?
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2655
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby cgeorge » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:46 am

Zoning should be ok, because we also you the catalyst fc for our hp data protector and there this works fine.
Does the zoning for use with veeam be special?
cgeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:59 pm
Full Name: Carol George

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:20 pm

No, but with the other WWNs from the Veeam Gateway Server.

At the Veeam Gateway Server, do the FC-HBA Utility see the StoreOnce system?
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2655
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby cgeorge » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:24 pm

where can I find the FC-HBA Utility, is this some special tool to check connections?
cgeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:59 pm
Full Name: Carol George

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:34 pm

Usually if you boot your server you can press a key combination to go into the HBA-Bios. There you can scan for storages usually.

There are windows software from the FC-HBA vendor that can do the same.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2655
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: OSCLT_ERR_SERVER_OFFLINE. Err: -1404 adding StoreOnce

Veeam Logoby cgeorge » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:48 pm

conguration is ok now, I indeed forget the correct zoning to the server
cgeorge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:59 pm
Full Name: Carol George

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests