Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby Tos » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:47 am

Hi
Our customer have question.
If Veeam server participate in the domain after installing Veeam, will it affect Veeam behavior ?
If so, please let me know points to keep in mind.
Regards
Toshi
Tos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:14 am

What exactly do you mean by "participate in domain"? Do you try to join backup server to domain or something?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby Tos » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:00 am

Hi
"Do you try to join backup server to domain or something?"
Yes, the customer try to join backup server to domain.
Even if the customer do it, is it possible to continue to perform backup ?
Regards
Toshi
Tos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:09 am

Yes, it is.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14812
Liked: 1113 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby Tos » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:31 am

Hi
Thanks !
Don't we also need to change the something registry key ?
By the below forum, if we rename veeam backup server host, we should change registry value.
veeam-backup-replication-f2/how-to-rename-veeam-backup-server-host-t7019.html
Tos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi

[MERGED] Adding Veeam B&R to the domain after Installtion

Veeam Logoby fvaldez » Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:47 pm

I have a Veeam B&R 9.5 on a windows server 2012 which is not part of the domain. I need to add it to the domain in order to backup some shared folders that needs domain permissions.
My question is, Can I add Veeam Server to the Domain without any issues?
fvaldez
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:09 pm
Full Name: fvaldez

Re: Adding Veeam B&R to the domain after Installtion

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:51 pm

Hi and welcome to the community!

There are no issues expected, you can add Veeam server safely.
Please review this existing discussion. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1036
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby fvaldez » Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:08 pm

Thank you very much DGinev, I will give it a try!
fvaldez
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:09 pm
Full Name: fvaldez

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby davidburke84 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:45 pm

I actually went from domain to standalone. I just had to make some adjustments with service account and had to reconnect to the SQL database.
davidburke84
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:06 pm
Full Name: David

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:54 pm

This approach have some benefits in cases when the domain is down. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1036
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bmuncy, joshua.frank, merlin33 and 29 guests