Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by Tos » Sep 19, 2017 2:47 am

Hi
Our customer have question.
If Veeam server participate in the domain after installing Veeam, will it affect Veeam behavior ?
If so, please let me know points to keep in mind.
Regards
Toshi

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 19, 2017 7:14 am

What exactly do you mean by "participate in domain"? Do you try to join backup server to domain or something?

Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by Tos » Sep 19, 2017 9:00 am

Hi
"Do you try to join backup server to domain or something?"
Yes, the customer try to join backup server to domain.
Even if the customer do it, is it possible to continue to perform backup ?
Regards
Toshi

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by v.Eremin » Sep 19, 2017 9:09 am

Yes, it is.

Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by Tos » Sep 19, 2017 9:31 am

Hi
Thanks !
Don't we also need to change the something registry key ?
By the below forum, if we rename veeam backup server host, we should change registry value.
veeam-backup-replication-f2/how-to-rena ... t7019.html

fvaldez
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 20, 2018 8:09 pm
Full Name: fvaldez
Contact:

[MERGED] Adding Veeam B&R to the domain after Installtion

Post by fvaldez » Feb 21, 2018 2:47 pm

I have a Veeam B&R 9.5 on a windows server 2012 which is not part of the domain. I need to add it to the domain in order to backup some shared folders that needs domain permissions.
My question is, Can I add Veeam Server to the Domain without any issues?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1264
Liked: 135 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Adding Veeam B&R to the domain after Installtion

Post by DGrinev » Feb 21, 2018 3:51 pm

Hi and welcome to the community!

There are no issues expected, you can add Veeam server safely.
Please review this existing discussion. Thanks!

fvaldez
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 20, 2018 8:09 pm
Full Name: fvaldez
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by fvaldez » Feb 21, 2018 4:08 pm

Thank you very much DGinev, I will give it a try!

davidburke84
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 20, 2016 3:06 pm
Full Name: David
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by davidburke84 » Feb 27, 2018 1:45 pm

I actually went from domain to standalone. I just had to make some adjustments with service account and had to reconnect to the SQL database.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1264
Liked: 135 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Participating in the domain after installing Veeam

Post by DGrinev » Feb 27, 2018 2:54 pm

This approach have some benefits in cases when the domain is down. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jcapone, JLundgren and 27 guests