Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jeffbourassa
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 18, 2009 12:10 am
Contact:

Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by jeffbourassa »

We are looking at using Replicas to migrate large VMs from one vcenter to another, like a datacenter migration but in the same network/server room.

We have setup replicas to the target location. We are planning to do a failover, then a permanent failover to complete the migration.

Is this a 2 step process? Currently the Permanent Failover is grayed out and not available, as per the docs on this.

Jeff

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26844
Liked: 4337 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by Gostev »

Yes, it is a 2 step process. The idea is that you first perform the failover, and ensure that VMs are functioning correctly in the new data center. If yes, you execute Permanent Failover. If not, you still have an option to execute Undo Failover.

rob_nikson
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 04, 2019 8:20 am
Full Name: Robert Nikogosian
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by rob_nikson »

Hello,

I have same problem: after performing failover the Permanent Failover is grayed out. Why? I can use the Permanent failover, only when I put it to the failover plan...Is that normal?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19523
Liked: 1780 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by foggy »

Hi Robert, are you sure that the failover stage is complete and the VM is ready for permanent failover? Feel free to contact our technical support to review your configuration for faster troubleshooting.

rob_nikson
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 04, 2019 8:20 am
Full Name: Robert Nikogosian
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by rob_nikson »

Hello foggy,
I am not sure. I am working with Cloud Provider, and am replicating the VMs to the vCloud Director using IP Remapping. I have success for permanent failover if use "failoverplan", this is very strange.
Image

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17881
Liked: 1673 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by veremin »

What happens if you right-click on replica VM, will permanent failover be available there? And are you positive you have not performed permanent failover yet? Thanks!

rob_nikson
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 04, 2019 8:20 am
Full Name: Robert Nikogosian
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by rob_nikson »

the replica is "runing" at the service provider vCloud. After 1st step - "failover" starts the replica on the vCD site: there is no option to right-click on the replica. So now I need permanent failover. I worke it out with "failover plan". After setting up a failover plan I am able to use the function "permanent failover". Not sure, this is the right way... But after doing this the replica will removed from veeam database and the job contains 0 objects.

dcampregher
Service Provider
Posts: 192
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2016 5:57 pm
Full Name: Diogo Campregher
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by dcampregher »

Hello!

I'm with same question. Why the Permanent failover only is possible for VMs whithin a failover plan ? What is the reason for this limitation ? In the real world i will need create a failover plan for each VM at the crash moment

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17881
Liked: 1673 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by veremin »

Because we think about two different failover scenarios:

- Partial site failover. One production VM becomes corrupted, but the rest of production site remains operative. In this case you need to switch temporarily to replica VM and communicate it via VPN tunnel established between two sites. As this is temporary operation, there is no permanent failover available. Also, there is a question - what should be done to VPN tunnel, if partial site failover is finalized for particular VM

- Full site failover. The whole production site goes offline for any reason. You run the cloud failover plan and perform full site failover, which doesn't look like a temporary operation and so the is permanent failover available

Side question - are you using vCD Cloud Connect Replication or not?

Thanks!

ftravinsky
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 03, 2020 10:38 am
Full Name: Fedor Travinsky
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by ftravinsky »

Just stumbled on the same issue in B&R 9.5u4.

This behavior contradicts with Documentation for both 9.5 and 10.0:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/archive/ba ... lover.html
The Help Center states opposite:
"The finalizing options for a planned failover are similar to those of an unplanned failover: undoing failover, permanent failover or failback."

I'd use Veeam for a purpose of VM migration to IaaS-cloud, but finalize button is not available :!:
I'm doing Cloud Connect Replication to vCD.

ftravinsky
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 03, 2020 10:38 am
Full Name: Fedor Travinsky
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by ftravinsky »

Just tried a Failover Plan feature.
Although Permanent Failover button becomes available, it’s no use for my migration purpose.
Cause all these Failover Plans don’t do Planned Failover: they just spin up replicas, doing nothing (no power down and extra sync) to source VM, which is a guaranteed way to the split-brain.

Currently I compare Veeam Cloud Connect Replication features vs VMware vCloud Availability: last one allows Planned Failover + Commit.

Please, enable the Permanent Failover button, as Help Center initially suggested.
“Try planned failover” checkbox for a Failover Plan would be a nice option too.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17881
Liked: 1673 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by veremin »

I think you might approach the concept of Cloud Failover Plans a bit differently from what it's been designed for.

Cloud Failover Plan is specifically for tenants that needs to switch quickly to replicas when disaster hits production environment.

In this case there are no production workloads available, no need to check them, shutdown and do the last sync - each of these steps slows the much needed failover process down.

So, if you describe you issue in a bit more details, probably, we can suggest alternative to Cloud Failover Plan (that apparently does not suite your current needs).

Thanks!

ftravinsky
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 03, 2020 10:38 am
Full Name: Fedor Travinsky
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by ftravinsky »

Veeam Cloud Connect offers a solution to fully control and easily migrate on premises data to highest standard cloud environments
I see no easy one-way-to-the-cloud migration here. As the Permanent Failover button is greyed out, I can't finish the migration process.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17881
Liked: 1673 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Permanent Failover Grayed Out?

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

You can run Planned Failover manually:

- Run replication job
- Power of source VMs
- Run replication job
- Run failover plan
- Run permanent failover

We understand that it might not be that easy and convenient, but still it might be worth trying.

Thank you for the feedback, we will see how experience can be improved in one of the next product releases.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests