Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 338
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by m.novelli » Jun 07, 2016 1:08 pm

Hi guys, have you ever seen "DUP! ping packets" to VMware hosts during Veeam Backups?

Everything seems to works fine despite the warning of DUP! pings

The customer environment:

Dell PowerEdge R430 nodes with Broadcom QLogic 57810 10 GbE network adapters
VMware ESXi 6.0 U2
Veeam 9.0 Update 1, NBD mode
Dell Networking X1052 switch

All bios/firmware updated

The "DUP!" ping packets are generated pinging the VMware hosts, pinging the VMs doesn't show this issue

Thanks for any info,

Marco

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4534
Liked: 371 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by PTide » Jun 07, 2016 1:32 pm

Hi,

Please see this thread.

Thanks.

hwp
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2017 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by hwp » Aug 29, 2017 4:34 pm

Hello, We are having a similar issue and we think is related to the QLogic 57810 Card or Driver. We only see the issue when the cards are under heavy load (i.e. during the backups). It would be nice to know if you finally found a solution for it.

PatB
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 31, 2018 1:04 pm
Full Name: Pat
Contact:

Re: Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by PatB » Jan 31, 2018 1:09 pm

Reviving an old thread, but we are experiencing the same issue with our ESX servers. They behave properly on the network throughout the day until the Veeam backups start at night. The DUPs then start until the backups finish. In our case the ESX (6.0 U3) servers are running Intel X710 10GbE nics on Dell servers.

Freeman
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 30, 2018 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by Freeman » Mar 30, 2018 6:41 pm

We are seeing this as well. Has anyone figured it out?

ESXi 6.5 with Intel x710 nics. Nic is connected with 10G SFP but connection to Veeam server is only 1G - so not sure about the being related to a heavy load.

TIA

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3031
Liked: 533 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Ping "DUP!" packets during backup

Post by Andreas Neufert » Apr 01, 2018 9:14 pm

Just guessing here.
Do you have Veeam components running on a virtual switch connected to a physical switch.

As well the VMKernel interface on same IP subnet connected over other (or hardware virtualized NICs) to the physical external switch?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests