Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
AlexsYB
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2012 1:43 am
Full Name: Alexander Samad

Potential new user ! :)

Post by AlexsYB » Jan 19, 2012 2:51 am

Hi

I am looking at switching from VDR (argh) to VEEAM. And it looks like I can solve a couple of problems in one go.

Current setup
DC1 (datacenter1)
3 x esx node
iscsi SAN/nas

Office
1 esx node
iscsi nas

dc2
iscsi nas

Its a mix of Windows and Linux.
Main issue is VDR fails on the remotely mounted LUNs (across 10Mb/s connections), and generally is a pain to use.

I would like to be able to
*) stop using MS backup server to backup my AD and my Exchange
*) store the last 7 days worth of backups on local storage (local to the site)
*) store longer term backups off site ( as well as the last 7 days)
*) i also have the requirement to replicate a MS 2008 DB

*) dedup, easy restoration
*) file restoration if needed

**) an easy intuitive interface to manage the backups

I have done some reading about VEEAM, and it sounds like it can do some of the stuff, but before I go and spend the time to trial it and such, need to really know if it can do what i want, or where it falls short.

The SQL i can probably do via SQL replication.

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23214
Liked: 1608 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 19, 2012 9:21 pm

Alexander,

Welcome to our Community forums!

Actually you can do all of that with Veeam B&R, just put us in your lab and you'll see it yourself. For all Windows VMs including AD and Exchange VMs you need to enable "application-aware image processing", this will guarantee you application backup consistency. As to retention policy, then you'll find various options available for you.

If you have any questions during your evaluation, please post them on our forums. Btw, have you checked our sticky F.A.Q., we have lots of useful information for the first insight.

Thanks!

AlexsYB
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2012 1:43 am
Full Name: Alexander Samad

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by AlexsYB » Jan 19, 2012 10:20 pm

Hi
Thanks, had a quick read through the FAQ.

so what components do i need. getting my head around the terminology. So currently I have 2 VDR vm's.

I would presume I need 2 backup servers, 1 at DC1 and 1 at Office. And I would presume then I need 1 Enterprise manager to consolidate all the backups.

At DC2 I only have storage not VM's or processing capability.. Should I have a server to act as ?proxy, repository,... ??


so the picture I am getting is
2 x backup servers
2 x proxies - maybe on the backup server
and 3 repositories 1 at DC1 and office and a shared one at DC2 ... so the backup servers at DC1 & office can point to the same repository at DC2 ? or do I need 4 repositories

Alex

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23214
Liked: 1608 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 20, 2012 12:33 pm

I would rather go with 1 backup server (+Enterprise Manager) and multiple proxies located at your Datacenter1 and Office locations. For each backup target create a backup repository through the Veeam console. For DC2 you will need only a repository server to store the backup files on, proxy is not required.

AlexsYB
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2012 1:43 am
Full Name: Alexander Samad

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by AlexsYB » Jan 22, 2012 10:33 pm

Okay...

doesn't traffic come from VM -> proxies -> backup server -> repository.

My reasoning for 2 backup servers is i don't want data to go DC1 -> office -> dc2 nor office -> dc1 -> dc2.

For a repository server, does that mean I need a machine (server) at dc2 ?

Alex

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5472
Liked: 2288 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by tsightler » Jan 23, 2012 1:11 am

AlexsYB wrote:doesn't traffic come from VM -> proxies -> backup server -> repository.
Nope, the "backup server" simply manages all the tasks. Traffic is VM -> Proxy -> Repository.

The whole point of the new architecture was to allow a single backup server in the majority of environments.

AlexsYB
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2012 1:43 am
Full Name: Alexander Samad

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by AlexsYB » Jan 23, 2012 10:41 pm

Great awesome.

last question for know :) The proxies are they software on a server, or a VM appliance or ?

What is their requirement

Alex

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5472
Liked: 2288 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by tsightler » Jan 24, 2012 2:26 am

It's a simple service installed on a Windows system. The requirements are well documented in the release notes but basically pretty much any Windows OS currently supported by Microsoft.

AlexsYB
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2012 1:43 am
Full Name: Alexander Samad

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by AlexsYB » Jan 24, 2012 2:32 am

Oh, anything on the roadmap for this to run on linux.
Documentation I can't see where you can download just the manuals. (not ready to download the trial yet, as I don't have the time to spend on it right now).

? can you install it in Virtual Centre VM ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18453
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Potential new user ! :)

Post by foggy » Jan 24, 2012 1:41 pm

Alexander, documentation is available on the product page under Resources tab.

Installing backup proxy on a vCenter VM is not actually a good idea from the performance perspective. Backup proxy performs resource intensive tasks (on-the-fly processing of heavy data streams during deduplication and compression) which can affect vCenter operation. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 43 guests