Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
arnoob
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2013 6:59 am
Full Name: guedon arnaud
Contact:

problem replication

Post by arnoob » Mar 06, 2013 7:02 am

Hello,

We are currently using VEEAM Backup & Replication V6. The backups work pretty well, but the replication is a disaster.
The « Optical Fiber » option is chosen, but VEEAM still choses to do the replication via ethernet, and as a result our whole network crumbles down.
We have decided to buy the 6.5 version. Do you think this will help us solve our problem ?

Thanks in advance.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16554
Liked: 1379 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: problem replication

Post by veremin » Mar 06, 2013 8:37 am

We have decided to buy the 6.5 version.
If you already have valid VB&R licence, there is no need to buy additional one for 6.5 version.

Can you elaborate a little bit on what you’ve meant by “Optic Fiber” option being chosen?

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: problem replication

Post by foggy » Mar 06, 2013 8:59 am

Guedon, if you are referring to Direct SAN mode, than this stands for the VM data retrieval from source storage, the data itself is transferred between the proxy servers over the network. Could you please also elaborate on your setup? What kind of proxy servers do you use for replication job? What are compression settings? Are you replicating locally or to remote location? All these will allow to better understand your issue and come up with some advice. Bottleneck stats for the replication job will also give us some information. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests