Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mgd5
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist
Contact:

Qucik Veeam Vsphere related question

Post by mgd5 » Oct 18, 2012 2:01 pm

Veeam Recommends adding an extra SCSI controller on proxie servers. Is there a way to add an controller whitout adding a disk for it ?

/mgd

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18030
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Qucik Veeam Vsphere related question

Post by foggy » Oct 18, 2012 3:03 pm

No, you need to create a new dummy disk on the new controller.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5685
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Qucik Veeam Vsphere related question

Post by dellock6 » Oct 18, 2012 3:06 pm

Uhm, not sure vSphere allows you to add a controller without adding a disk to its scsi channel.
A quick trick could be to add a tiny disk to the Veeam proxy (even only a GB) so it will have an additional controller. Have you hit the 15 channels limit of the first controller? Do you run many cuncurrent jobs on that proxy?
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Frohn, Google [Bot], ncapponi, neilp, reiso22 and 37 guests