Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
mwatson536
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Mitch Watson

Remote Site backup

Post by mwatson536 »

Hello I am new to Veeam but we have a veeam backup server in our CO office and I want to back up one of our CA offices to the storage here in CO. Both sites are running Vmware 5 and are one two different Vcenter servers. Do I need to setup a proxy server in CA and if so does it need to be a separate server than one of the ones I have out there. I guess what would be the proper setup to back up CA to the CO storage/

Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Remote Site backup

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Mitch and welcome to the Veeam community!
mwatson536 wrote:Do I need to setup a proxy server in CA and if so does it need to be a separate server than one of the ones I have out there.
Yes, it`s a good idea which will speed up the backup process. It will be great to grant the backup proxy role to one of VMs with high Memory performance.
It`s considered as best practice to make a local backup(CA) and use backup copy job to copy it offsite(CO).
Thanks!
mwatson536
Influencer

Post by mwatson536 »

Ok thank you.
Shestakov
Veteran

Post by Shestakov »

You are welcome, Mitch.
Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking.
mwatson536
Influencer

Post by mwatson536 »