Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
bgalante
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 27, 2015 5:14 pm
Full Name: Brian Galante
Contact:

"Replica named xyz already exists"

Post by bgalante »

I have replication jobs based on a folder in vsphere.

I moved a vm from one folder to another, both were being backed up already by Veeam.

I get a "Replica named xyz already exists"

How do I handle if someone moves a VM from one folder to another?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19285
Liked: 1743 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: "Replica named xyz already exists"

Post by foggy »

Brian, you need to map the job that replicates the folder you've moved the VM into to existing replica VM on the target host.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24099
Liked: 1815 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: "Replica named xyz already exists"

Post by Vitaliy S. »

This should be done every time you migrate VM from one folder/container to another one.

jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 9:31 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow
Contact:

Re: "Replica named xyz already exists"

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt »

Recently I've been getting random VM's that throw this error, even though they haven't been moved at all. Running 8.0 with the latest patch 3 but this was happening with patch 2 as well.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19285
Liked: 1743 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: "Replica named xyz already exists"

Post by foggy »

Did you get those errors in the same jobs the VMs in question are replicated by? Any chance the VMs were re-registered in virtual environment prior to that? Have you asked support to review logs for any of the occurrences?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 16 guests