Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating digests

VMware specific discussions

Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating digests

Veeam Logoby hbm » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:36 pm

Hello

I'm doing (or trying to do) an offsite replica task though VPN

Before moving offsite I've been doing in-site replicas without any problem.

For this offsite task I've used as the replica mapping VM the same replica VM that was generated through the in-site replication. In fact, on this task either the destination proxy and the destination host are the same used in the in-site replica, with the only exception that both have new IPs because both are now in a remote VPN.

The off-iste job is configured exactly the same as the in-site job, with the exception of the destination ESXi an the destination veeam proxy's IPs

The error appears on every task allways after two hours (always after two hours since the job started). The event that is running at that point is "Calculating digests hard disk", which never reaches 100%. The error string is:

Code: Select all
     Error: Client error: VDDK error: 1.Unknown error Failed to process [calcDiskDigestsCli].


A deeper look at the replica task logfile reveals this error event:

Code: Select all
[27.02.2013 14:41:36] <09> Info           [AP] (fb87) error: VDDK error: 1.Unknown error\n--tr:Disk read operation has failed. Disk path: [[XxxxXxxx_Datastore] XXXXX.domain.name/XXXXX.domain.name-000002.vmdk]. Read offset: [317,005,496,320]. Requested data size: [4194304]. Disk size: [1,782,688,251,904]\n--tr:Failed to pre-read data ( first start block '1209280', blocks num '16'. Block size: '262144').\n--tr:Next asynchronous read request cannot be processed.\n--tr:Asynchronous data reader has failed.\n--tr:Failed to recalculate digests.\nFailed to process [calcDiskDigestsCli].\n--tr:Client failed to process the command. Command: [calcDiskDigestsCli].\n


So it seems that there is a problem with that snapshot on the replica mapping VM.

The VPN connection is stable and I haven't noticed any problem with it.

As per veeam's documentation «...under Replicas node you will see a VM replica with two restore points. One point will contain the latest state of the mapped VM (the VM located on the target host); the other point will contain the latest state of the original VM on the source host.»

Since the conflicting snapshot is numbered 000002, I understand that it's the one that contains the latest state of the original VM. However I'm pretty sure that no data is transfered yet between the Source ESXi and the Destination ESXi when the error happens.

Can you give any hints or thoughts about this problem?

Thank you in advance.
hbm
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:08 pm
Full Name: H. Bm

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:33 pm

What repository is selected for storing metadata in this replication job?

Also please provide your support case ID (required when posting about technical issues).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby hbm » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:06 am

The metadata repository is in the source proxy

where do I get a support case ID?
hbm
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:08 pm
Full Name: H. Bm

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:54 am

By opening a support case at http://cp.veeam.com

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby tanertekin » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:01 am

Hello I have same problem as you. How could you solve?
tanertekin
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:59 am
Full Name: Taner Ertekin

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:17 pm

We cannot lookup since OP never posted support case ID...
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby jim.montgomery » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:53 pm

We are getting this error
Can someone direct us if there is a fix? Had to upgrade to Veeam 8 and rebuild all the replicas in the same manner. This is the last one that refuses to work properly!!!!!!!!!



3/16/2015 12:19:20 AM :: Processing XyZ-RSA Error: Failed to open VDDK disk [[XysDRLocal] XyZ-RSA_replica/XyZ-RSA_1.vmdk] ( is read-only mode - [true] )
Failed to open VMDK.
Logon attempt with parameters [VC/ESX: [10.105.14.39];Port: 443;Login: [TESTER\vsphere.admin];VMX Spec: [moref=vm-25470];Snapshot mor: [snapshot-25687];Transports: [nbd];Read Only: [true]] failed because of the following errors:
Failed to process [calcDiskDigestsCli].
jim.montgomery
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:52 pm
Full Name: Jim Montgomery

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:01 pm

I had the same error message when the account connected to the vCenter Server didn't have enough permissions on the processed VM. If you're using admin account, please contact our technical team and update this topic with your case ID. This would be useful for future readers (like yourself).

P.S. since no one above has ever posted his case ID, we cannot look through our support ticketing system and say what can be done to fix this problem. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby keithlammers » Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:48 pm

I'm having this same issue, but only occassionally. Some times the replication job will complete successfully, other times it will fail multiple times in a row with this error. I'll submit a support case and post my case # here when I get it :)
keithlammers
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Location: Canada
Full Name: Keith Lammers

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby keithlammers » Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:45 pm

Case submitted with logs. Here's the case #: 01757316. I should note that the error I'm getting is the same as @jim.montgomery's, which looks to be a bit different than OP's error.
keithlammers
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Location: Canada
Full Name: Keith Lammers

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby keithlammers » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:11 pm

I believe I've found the issue (and I feel silly that I didn't find it sooner). After I submitted my support case, I opened up the vSphere console and noticed that it was showing that the replica VM needed snapshot consolidation. After doing that, the first run of the replication job has succeeded. I will post an update tomorrow to confirm that it's still working correctly :)
keithlammers
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Location: Canada
Full Name: Keith Lammers

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:34 pm

Hi Keith, do you have Veeam ONE installed? The reason why I'm asking this is that Veeam ONE can notify you about any issues happening in the infrastructure (such as snapshot consolidation needed). In addition to this, there are infrastructure assessments reports that will allow you to be proactive when monitoring the health of your VI.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replica task Unknown VDDK error during Calculating diges

Veeam Logoby keithlammers » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:18 pm

Looks like that was the issue indeed. I haven't had any failures since consolidating the snapshots.

@Vitaliy, we're not licensed for Veeam ONE unfortunately, but I've setup an alarm in vCenter now to notify me when consolidation is needed :)

Thanks!
keithlammers
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Location: Canada
Full Name: Keith Lammers


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests