Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Replicas instead of backups

Post by ashman70 » Apr 18, 2016 2:45 am

I know replicas are not the same as backups, but my situation is this:

I have a vm running exchange that failed to complete its full backup this weekend, it retried it tonight and was at 31% when forcibly stopped it. I've disabled the job now because I can't have it run a full backup during the week as there is too much going on with other jobs and it takes 16hrs, I don't want it running during the day. Now I have replicas of this exchange server running every hour, so I should be relatively protected with those, correct? I realize in a worse cases scenario, some exchange silent database corruption happens and replicates to the replicas and I'd have to go back to the oldest database backup which was an incremental from Thursday last week. But otherwise I should be ok until Friday when I can run a full exchange backup. Is there something else I can do until then to protect this exchange server via backups? Create a new always incremental job until Friday?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 18, 2016 7:38 am

Which type of production storage are you running? Can you tell a bit more about the size of the VM as it takes so long? In regards to the job which is stated as the bottleneck in the statistics?

The process for making a replica is the same as a backup by default, we create a snapshot and transfer the data.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by ashman70 » Apr 18, 2016 12:53 pm

The Veeam server is a physical host with local storage that acts as the data store for backups. The VM in question is just over 250GB. From what I can tell it says primary bottleneck is network. The production host and replica host are on the same gigabit lan.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 18, 2016 1:24 pm

And your VMware production storage is running on which type? If the network is the bottleneck it may be a good thing to have the job looked into via support. It could be that you are backing up via the ESXi kernel (NBD) in your job statistics which causes the slow backup.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by ashman70 » Apr 18, 2016 1:26 pm

Vmware production storage is local RAID 10 volume. How could I tell if I was backing up via the Esxi kernel (NBD)?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 18, 2016 1:28 pm

If you look in the job and select the specific VM it will say something like this:
Using backup proxy VMware Backup Proxy for disk Hard disk 1 [NBD]
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by ashman70 » Apr 18, 2016 1:57 pm

I don't see that. I am using enterprise edition.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 18, 2016 2:23 pm

Have a look at https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsp ... stics.html where you can see where to find it. Please contact support as well to have them assist you with this issue and leave the support case number here.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by ashman70 » Apr 18, 2016 6:37 pm

Thanks, does this also hold true for V8?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicas instead of backups

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 18, 2016 6:56 pm

Yes, this applies to version 8 as well.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests