Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Replication and backup

Post by jamerson » Jul 06, 2013 9:51 pm

Dear All,
i need some Clarification which to use, Backup or Replication?
also i want to know for replication in case disacter recovery,
when i turn the Replic machine on, what will happend with the old one? is the Veeam going to replicate the new Machine that comes up from the replication pool?

thank you

yizhar
Service Provider
Posts: 181
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by yizhar » Jul 06, 2013 10:44 pm

Hi.

Reagrading backup vs replica:

Backups -
good for short and long term backups.
less disk space (data dedupped and compressed).

Replica -
good for short term only, keeping just last few restore points.
good for short RTO requirements (The VM is ready to be just powered on).
requires more disk space then backups.

So - in general:
Backups - are a must. You should keep both long and short term recovery points.
You should also have at least one copy of the backup (or replica) off site, in addition (and not instead!) to local copies.

Replica - optional.
Can complement the backups if you need short RTO, for example DR site, but can also be used at primary site.

Regarding other questions Please read the following:
the FAQ on this forum.
The user/administrator guide of Veeam - it will provide information about replica failover/failback procedures among a lot of other information.

Yizhar

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by jamerson » Jul 06, 2013 11:10 pm

thank you so much for your answer,
the problem i have now is with copy files doesn't works fine till now because the names are long,
so i am replicating them in the mean and waiting for version 7 hopfeully it will fix the probleem,
i Always have backup on external hdd, so my theroy is
daily replication for the OS ( 7 days restore)
every 2 hrs replication for my extra Disk ( files),
Daily backup to External HDD

what i understand now is :
Replication is good for Failover ? Backup for Files?

yizhar
Service Provider
Posts: 181
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by yizhar » Jul 07, 2013 4:56 pm 1 person likes this post

jamerson wrote: so my theroy is
daily replication for the OS ( 7 days restore)
every 2 hrs replication for my extra Disk ( files),
Daily backup to External HDD
Separating OS and Data between jobs is bad idea.
You should backup a whole VM in any case.
If you need additional replication (for faster recovery) , do it also on a whole VM and not specific disks.
jamerson wrote: what i understand now is :
Replication is good for Failover ? Backup for Files?
No, the above is wrong.
Backup is good for all scenarios (restore full VM or specific files), and is the "bread".

Replica is also good for most scenarios - it is better for fast recovery of full VM, but requires much more disk space and allows for less recovery points in time.
This is the "butter" (or "jam" if you prefer) which is also more expensive - but don't use it without the "bread", it won't taste so good and just make you too fat.

Yizhar

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by jamerson » Jul 07, 2013 5:31 pm

Dear yizhar,
much appreciate your explain really !
on my Lab i have one issue now after the backup is done, its said no virtual disk found , the backup job is succecefully finished no errors at all,
i updated to the new x.x.144 Patch but it didn't help,
do i need to log a ticket for this? or maybe someone with the same problem can advise, i looked over the net but couldnt find anything similar to this!

yizhar
Service Provider
Posts: 181
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by yizhar » Jul 07, 2013 10:40 pm

hi.

yes open a ticket to troubleshoot your
specific error.

yizhar

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17267
Liked: 1513 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by veremin » Jul 08, 2013 8:39 am

I'm wondering what the exact error was. Was it “no virtual disk found” or something different? Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by jamerson » Jul 09, 2013 4:42 pm

Dear Eremin,
the error is attached, i am still troubleshoting this, i am reading over the net hopefully find someone with the same error !

Image

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by jamerson » Jul 09, 2013 9:36 pm

Dear All,
i managed to fix this problem, for those who may have the same error,
is easy to fix :

Resolution :
go to your job ( backup or replication ) click Edit on the Virtual machine to backup, just recalculate the size, and next and save the job
Imporant you must run the job once after you recalucate,

it solved my problem

thank you

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication and backup

Post by foggy » Jul 10, 2013 7:43 am

Thanks for updating the thread with the resolution, Julien.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests