Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
MartinM
Novice
Liked: 7 times
Full Name: Martin Meyer

Replication, but what about the Veeam server?

Post by MartinM »

I am still pretty new to virtualization and to Veeam, but here goes. Imagine this scenario.

Host #1 (ESXi 5.5):
6 guests of which 1 is the Veeam server.

Host #2 (ESXi 5.5):
I want this as my Replication Job target.

NAS:
My default Backup Job repository. I run a Backup Job on this every single night, and it works like a charm.

I setup my Host #1 to replicate all guests to Host #2 through a Veeam Replication Job. Then disaster strikes, and Host #1 dies. Will Host #2 automatically "stand in" for Host #1, so that I can access Host #2 just as I did it with Host #1 before the disaster? Will all guests be exactly the same, and up to date, but only running from a different host?

Is this how a Replication Job works in Veeam?
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Replication, but what about the Veeam server?

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Martin,
MartinM wrote:Will Host #2 automatically "stand in" for Host #1, so that I can access Host #2 just as I did it with Host #1 before the disaster? Will all guests be exactly the same, and up to date, but only running from a different host?
Not automatically, you will have to start your VMs either using Veeam console or manually. In a case of disaster failover will work and your target host (Host #2) will work as a source. Then you have a choice either to with keep using the target host (Host #2) as a primary one, called permanent failover or to failback.

Thank you.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

MartinM wrote:Will all guests be exactly the same, and up to date, but only running from a different host?