Replication Failover and Failback

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:13 pm

I'm trying to test to my DR site, a failover and failback. I successfully failover in about 3 minutes, however my failback takes 10+ hours and seems like its copying the entire VM back?

Can someone point me in the direction of what i'm doing wrong? All the demos how the failback taking minutes as well...
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:16 am

Failover is just a switch from the original VM to its replica, while during replica failback to the original VM Veeam B&R needs to calculate and synchronize the differences between the original VM and the replica VM. The time required to scan the VM image depends on its size and is comparable to the full backup time of this VM.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:41 am

Its only 25 GB. This is a test server. The initial seed to my DR site took 3 hours.

I failed over, put a test file on the desktop and am now failing back...its going to take another 10 hours...i'll update when done.

Something is not right...
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:40 pm

Chad, have you picked up the proxy servers both in source and target sites during the failback wizard?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:36 pm

Hmm now we are getting somewhere. No I only have one Veeam server at my main site.

So I need a Veeam proxy at my DR site?

Just over 46% in 3 hours...
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:08 pm

Yes, as with replication, not having proxy servers on both ends results in poor data transfer performance. In your case, source proxy pulls the data using network mode across WAN, instead of using hotadd mode and transferring data between proxies.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:45 pm

Alrighty, I installed a proxy at the DR. Once this failback finishes in a few more hours i'll try it again.
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:31 pm

Failback took just over 8 hours...

I've added the proxy to my DR site. Going to test again.
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby chad156 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:47 pm

Foggy,

Thanks!!!! Setup my proxies, when I did my failback and manually selected the proxies, the failback took 11 minutes. This is what I expected.

I'm assuming that the manual selection of the proxies is not needed either?
chad156
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:35 pm
Full Name: Chad Gibson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:19 am 2 people like this post

No, Veeam Backup is usually able to determine which one is the source and which is the target.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5157
Liked: 1386 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

[MERGED] Slow failback for replica

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Fri May 04, 2012 1:57 pm

I am doing a test replica failover and failback. I created a small 30GB VM running Server 2008R2. I created a replica job to run every 2 hours. The VM has stagnant data since its just for testing. I am replicating to a Datastore in our DR site over a 1 gig link. Failover works like a charm. It only takes a minute or so to failover. However, when I choose failback to the original location, it takes 20 minutes. Looks at the session logs, its spends about 16 minutes on "Calculating original signature Hard Disk 1 (30.0 GB)" There were no changes made on the VM after I failed it over. Is this typical?
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 04, 2012 2:06 pm

Dave, yes, this is expected. See my first post above.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Fri May 04, 2012 2:53 pm

foggy wrote:Dave, yes, this is expected. See my first post above.


Thanks.

Here's my scenerio.

My setup is this:

5 ESX hosts in Primary DataCenter
5 ESX Hosts in DR DataCenter
All 10 Hosts are in 1 cluster
DataCore servers sitting between ESX hosts and storage serving up iSCSI synchronous mirrored virtual disks to all ESX hosts. So all 10 ESX hosts have active VMs running. Its basically an active stretch cluster over a 1Gig link.
Veeam Server is physical with an iSCSI connection into the iSCSI network and has all mirrored DataCore ESX virtual disks presented to it in Read Only mode.

I want to replicate VMs to separate dedicated mirrored virtual volumes within the same stretch cluster. Since I am using the physical Veeam server as the only backup Proxy, would it be benefical, for replication performance, to add another proxy say on a VM in the cluster?
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 04, 2012 3:58 pm

Adding virtual proxy will allow you to use hotadd for writing data to the target.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15386
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failover and Failback

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Fri May 04, 2012 6:35 pm

What happens if a backup job kicks off the same time as a replication job or during a replication job on the same VM?
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest