Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
LarsWulf
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 28, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: Lars Wulf
Contact:

Replication Target Host selection

Post by LarsWulf » Jul 22, 2016 10:06 am

Hi everybody,

I am currently evaluating Veeam as Replication solution for a DRP project.
Everything is fine so far but I notice one suboptimal behavior. All test jobs are configured with the vSphere cluster as target. But always just one host is used. So I am quite quickly stuck at waiting for ESX Target availability due to nbd limits per ESX host.

Is there a way to separate the jobs to different hosts without configuring different jobs with dedicated hosts as target.

Regards
Lars

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by foggy » Jul 22, 2016 12:26 pm

Hi Lars, why don't you use hotadd instead of NBD to populate VM data on target?

LarsWulf
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 28, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: Lars Wulf
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by LarsWulf » Jul 22, 2016 12:36 pm

Normally I like to keep the load of backup and restore at dedicated machines used this. So that is why we are using physical servers.

So to be honest I didn`t really thought about a virtual proxy. But good hint.

Are there no limitations or bugs (not mentioned in kb1054) when you are using HotAdd ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by foggy » Jul 22, 2016 12:37 pm

All the limitations are described in the mentioned KB.

LarsWulf
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Nov 28, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: Lars Wulf
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by LarsWulf » Jul 22, 2016 12:45 pm

I will give it a try.

But just for information: why do I have the described behaviour with nbd ?
How is Veeam choosing which host is used out of a cluster ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by foggy » Jul 22, 2016 1:45 pm

It selects the host randomly. In 9.5, however, some load balancing logic will be introduced.

mbrownwfp
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 17, 2016 11:56 pm
Full Name: Matt Brown
Contact:

[MERGED] Cluster as destination, all replicas created on sam

Post by mbrownwfp » Sep 28, 2016 5:36 pm

I will preface this question by saying that we run vSphere Standard on the majority of our hosts, so DRS is not enabled.

I've noticed that if I select a cluster as the destination for a replication job containing multiple VMs, all of the replicas get created on the same host in the target cluster. Is this due to lack of DRS at the VMware level or is Veeam making this decision independently?

If this is native Veeam behaviour I am struggling to see the benefit of allowing a cluster to be chosen as the target for a replication job if there is no distribution of VMs across said cluster.

If distribution is dependent on DRS it would be helpful for Veeam GUI to indicate there will be no distribution within the cluster due to lack of DRS, or simply not allow a cluster to be chosen as a target if DRS is not available (similar to how VMware wont allow a cluster to be chosen as a vMotion target if DRS is not available).

Hoping someone can provide some more detail on this behaviour so I can plan my replication jobs accordingly.

Thanks,
Matt

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by foggy » Sep 28, 2016 6:58 pm

Hi Matt, the behavior is expected with the current version, but will change in v9.5.

mbrownwfp
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 17, 2016 11:56 pm
Full Name: Matt Brown
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by mbrownwfp » Sep 28, 2016 8:11 pm

Thank you foggy.

You mentioned the target host is selected at random. I appears that the host selection happens at the job level (rather than for each VM in the job) as each of the 13 replicas in my job ended up on the same host. Random selection even on a per-VM basis within a job would help as this would provide some level of distribution for the replicas.

Anyway, I look forward to this and other new features coming in v9.5.

Matt

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Target Host selection

Post by foggy » Sep 29, 2016 11:16 am

mbrownwfp wrote:I appears that the host selection happens at the job level (rather than for each VM in the job) as each of the 13 replicas in my job ended up on the same host.
Right, this is how it works currently.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests