Restored DC fails to start AD

VMware specific discussions

Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tfloor » Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:14 pm

Hello,

I'm testing a virtual lab.
I have add our 2 domaincontrollers (2003/2008r2) to an application group and start the job.

When everything is started up. (without dc test-scripts)
I try to start "Active directory users and computers" and get the following error:
Naming information cannot be located because:
The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted.

Is that normal? That you have todo something before domaincontrollers are starting correctly after restore of a veeam snapshot?
Those are the only DC's i have and they also do DNS, so i thought everything that is required to run is in the application group.

Any idea's?

Regards,

Tristan.
tfloor
Expert
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:28 pm

Hi, definitely not normal. Something may not be setup right, this needs closer investigation by our support. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tfloor » Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:48 pm

That's a short answer :), (this one also)
tfloor
Expert
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby Cokovic » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:31 pm

Hey Tristan,

why didn't you choose the DC Test scripts? That will ensure that Active Directory is running. Did you ever tried it with the test scripts? Maybe you should give it a try. Please check Domain Controller, Global Catalog and DNS roles in your application group for these VMs (i know it will extend the boot time) and try it again.
Cokovic
Expert
 
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:36 pm

The fact that he has "no test script" might be the issue. When you say this, do you mean that you have not selected the "Domain Controller" role for these VMs when configuring the application group? If not, then when the lab is run we will not perform the "Configuring DC" portion of the lab startup. This portion contains the "magic" that makes domain controllers actually boot up in a reasonable time in an isolated environment. Without this step it can take 45-60 minutes for domain controllers to actually become operational.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tfloor » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:58 pm

Hi,

I had removed those test scripts (indeed the roles) because my job was failing at that moment and the vm's were shutdown, so i couldn't do some testing.
But i will select the roles again, and put both dc's on. I will post the results here.
tfloor
Expert
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tfloor » Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:42 pm

Damn, that's working.

What's that "magic" inside that, i thought it was for testing only.... but it looks like it is doing more ....
tfloor
Expert
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:16 pm

Actually, not using test script is totally fine (which is why this fact did not catch my attention). However, the DC role MUST be assigned, so that SureBackup engine knows it deals with DC and reconfigures it appropriately to work correctly in the isolated environment.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:59 pm

Yep, script itself is not really important, however, when you check/uncheck the "Role" a test script is added/removed automatically so many users associate the two together, which was my suspicion in this case. You can always select the "Role" and then manually remove the test script.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby tfloor » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:37 pm

Ah that explains.
Very good to know that I can remove the script but use the role checkbox

Thanks for the fast solution.
tfloor
Expert
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:08 am

Gostev wrote:Actually, not using test script is totally fine (which is why this fact did not catch my attention). However, the DC role MUST be assigned, so that SureBackup engine knows it deals with DC and reconfigures it appropriately to work correctly in the isolated environment.


How does it work ? I have a virtual lab and SureBackup Job for a remote site (100Mbits/s line) and the Surebackup job stuck to Configuring DC for a while !!!

Veeam server at the main site, and Veeam proxy/repo at the remote site.
I think that the Veeam server on the main site must open the .vmdk file of the remote DC to make the "Configure DC" ?

Thx
Boris
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:45 am

Yes, you're right. Veeam backup console opens/mounts .vmdk file to edit the registry settings, but the traffic consumed by this process is minimal, so your 100 Mbit line is more than enough for this kind of operation.

The reason why it takes so long to Configure DC should be clearly seen in the SB log files, so please contact our support team for logs review assistance.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:40 am

For information, about 40mn to Configure DC, I see VeeamAgent.exe process with a maximal network Throughtput between 300ko/s - 1Mo/s really slow !!!
I will open a support case
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby Aremac » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:31 pm

I've started having an issue identical to this. The surebackup job includes the role and the script and passes however when I try to load ADUC I get the message reported at the beginning of this thread. Any suggestions for troubleshooting this?

Thanks
Aremac
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:59 pm
Full Name: Sam Pierce

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:54 am

Hi, Sam.

Do you have Application Aware Image Processing option enabled in the job settings? What if you try to test DC restoration, using Instant VM Recovery, will you get the experience a similar issue?

Anyway, if you can confirm that the corresponding Application Group is configured properly, i.e. the required roles are assigned, the scripts are selected, you might want to open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests