Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tfloor » Apr 05, 2012 12:14 pm

Hello,

I'm testing a virtual lab.
I have add our 2 domaincontrollers (2003/2008r2) to an application group and start the job.

When everything is started up. (without dc test-scripts)
I try to start "Active directory users and computers" and get the following error:
Naming information cannot be located because:
The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted.

Is that normal? That you have todo something before domaincontrollers are starting correctly after restore of a veeam snapshot?
Those are the only DC's i have and they also do DNS, so i thought everything that is required to run is in the application group.

Any idea's?

Regards,

Tristan.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24016
Liked: 3253 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by Gostev » Apr 05, 2012 12:28 pm

Hi, definitely not normal. Something may not be setup right, this needs closer investigation by our support. Thanks!

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tfloor » Apr 05, 2012 12:48 pm

That's a short answer :), (this one also)

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by Cokovic » Apr 05, 2012 1:31 pm

Hey Tristan,

why didn't you choose the DC Test scripts? That will ensure that Active Directory is running. Did you ever tried it with the test scripts? Maybe you should give it a try. Please check Domain Controller, Global Catalog and DNS roles in your application group for these VMs (i know it will extend the boot time) and try it again.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5290
Liked: 2144 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tsightler » Apr 05, 2012 1:36 pm

The fact that he has "no test script" might be the issue. When you say this, do you mean that you have not selected the "Domain Controller" role for these VMs when configuring the application group? If not, then when the lab is run we will not perform the "Configuring DC" portion of the lab startup. This portion contains the "magic" that makes domain controllers actually boot up in a reasonable time in an isolated environment. Without this step it can take 45-60 minutes for domain controllers to actually become operational.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tfloor » Apr 05, 2012 1:58 pm

Hi,

I had removed those test scripts (indeed the roles) because my job was failing at that moment and the vm's were shutdown, so i couldn't do some testing.
But i will select the roles again, and put both dc's on. I will post the results here.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tfloor » Apr 05, 2012 2:42 pm

Damn, that's working.

What's that "magic" inside that, i thought it was for testing only.... but it looks like it is doing more ....

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24016
Liked: 3253 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by Gostev » Apr 05, 2012 3:16 pm

Actually, not using test script is totally fine (which is why this fact did not catch my attention). However, the DC role MUST be assigned, so that SureBackup engine knows it deals with DC and reconfigures it appropriately to work correctly in the isolated environment.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5290
Liked: 2144 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tsightler » Apr 05, 2012 3:59 pm

Yep, script itself is not really important, however, when you check/uncheck the "Role" a test script is added/removed automatically so many users associate the two together, which was my suspicion in this case. You can always select the "Role" and then manually remove the test script.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by tfloor » Apr 05, 2012 4:37 pm

Ah that explains.
Very good to know that I can remove the script but use the role checkbox

Thanks for the fast solution.

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 172
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by NightBird » Jun 07, 2012 9:08 am

Gostev wrote:Actually, not using test script is totally fine (which is why this fact did not catch my attention). However, the DC role MUST be assigned, so that SureBackup engine knows it deals with DC and reconfigures it appropriately to work correctly in the isolated environment.
How does it work ? I have a virtual lab and SureBackup Job for a remote site (100Mbits/s line) and the Surebackup job stuck to Configuring DC for a while !!!

Veeam server at the main site, and Veeam proxy/repo at the remote site.
I think that the Veeam server on the main site must open the .vmdk file of the remote DC to make the "Configure DC" ?

Thx
Boris

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22282
Liked: 1411 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 07, 2012 9:45 am

Yes, you're right. Veeam backup console opens/mounts .vmdk file to edit the registry settings, but the traffic consumed by this process is minimal, so your 100 Mbit line is more than enough for this kind of operation.

The reason why it takes so long to Configure DC should be clearly seen in the SB log files, so please contact our support team for logs review assistance.

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 172
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by NightBird » Jun 07, 2012 11:40 am

For information, about 40mn to Configure DC, I see VeeamAgent.exe process with a maximal network Throughtput between 300ko/s - 1Mo/s really slow !!!
I will open a support case

Aremac
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2011 11:59 pm
Full Name: Sam Pierce
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by Aremac » Aug 13, 2013 10:31 pm

I've started having an issue identical to this. The surebackup job includes the role and the script and passes however when I try to load ADUC I get the message reported at the beginning of this thread. Any suggestions for troubleshooting this?

Thanks

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16130
Liked: 1314 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Restored DC fails to start AD

Post by v.eremin » Aug 14, 2013 8:54 am

Hi, Sam.

Do you have Application Aware Image Processing option enabled in the job settings? What if you try to test DC restoration, using Instant VM Recovery, will you get the experience a similar issue?

Anyway, if you can confirm that the corresponding Application Group is configured properly, i.e. the required roles are assigned, the scripts are selected, you might want to open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests