Restoring Oracle Redologs

VMware specific discussions

Restoring Oracle Redologs

Veeam Logoby ariesps » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:37 pm

Hi,

We are testing backup & restore for an Suse 12 with Oracle 12.

Backup is working wonderfully, with full vm everyday and redologs backup every 15min.

For testings purposes we have restored a full vm from last restore point, and now we want to apply the last restore point with Veeam Explorer, but when we launch the restore, Veeam Explorer keep "validating" until it shows this error

Code: Select all
4/15/2016 11:27:42 AM   12 (11492) Error: Timeout for command 'export PS1="Veeam> "' exceeded.
4/15/2016 11:27:42 AM   12 (11492) Command Output: <null>
4/15/2016 11:27:43 AM    1 (12808) Error: Database restore is not possible. Unable to connect to server.
4/15/2016 11:27:43 AM    1 (12808) Stack:
4/15/2016 11:27:43 AM    1 (12808)    at Veeam.Oracle.Explorer.Validators.ServerCredentialsValidator.Validate(IProcessObserver observer)
   at Veeam.Oracle.Explorer.Validators.LinuxRestoreAvailableChecker.Validate(IProcessObserver observer)
   at Veeam.Oracle.Explorer.Tasks.AsyncRestoreDatabaseTask.Run()
   at Veeam.Presentation.Async.VisualAsyncTask.Execute()

We can connect to restored vm via SSH, and listener and database are started and mounted.

Any idea?

Thanks in advance!
ariesps
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:43 pm
Full Name: Sergio

Re: Restoring Oracle Redologs

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:10 pm

This might be related due to the new VM not being the original one but it's best to contact support and see where this error exactly comes from.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1505
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Restoring Oracle Redologs

Veeam Logoby ariesps » Thu May 05, 2016 9:31 am 1 person likes this post

The source of problem was that user we were using to launch the Oracle restore, had configured /bin/csh as shell On this shell export command does not exist.

Changing the shell to /bin/bash solved the problem, and restore launched correctly.
ariesps
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:43 pm
Full Name: Sergio


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests