Hi Alec and welcome to the community!
alecnaylor wrote:If I changed the VM name and folder when carrying out the restore process would it delete the current VM on the ESXi host.
No, it will not be deleted, as it will register as new VM with a unique ID, also you able to restore VMs
to ESXi hosts without additional licenses.
The recommended way to verify backups for recoverability is to use SureBackup
job, but it requires Enterprise or Enterprise Plus license.
However, if you use the Standard edition, you can manually verify VM backups with instant VM recovery. Thanks!