Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 353
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Reuse the legacy, can it coexist ? how about legacy support ?

Post by lowlander »

Hi,

we see a lot of customers that want to leave the legacy backup platform and need more functionality that can be provided with Veeam.

If a current setup on a physical server is deployed with BackupExec (for example) where backups are stored locally, is it supported to create a Veeam backup repository on this server. In the VMware environment we create the other components like Veeam Backup & Replication server and virtual proxies. Is there an official statement from Veeam regarding this setup ?

I also like to know if there are experiences with possible support issues when for example ( and most probably 😉) an issue occurs within the BackupExec environment and you need to contact vendor support for in this case BackupExec ?

thanks !

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 235
Liked: 81 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Reuse the legacy, can it coexist ? how about legacy support ?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

I had this once in a enviroment with a tape drive.
Tape Drive was not visible to veeam, as long the backup exec services was running. Backup exec has taken ownership over tape drive with running services.

1 Drive, 1 Backup Software.

If you don‘t have any tape drive on this server, i think parallel installation will not be a problem.
It can be a performance problem, if both backup products are used at the same time todo backups.
For only restore purposes of the old legacy backupexec software, I don‘t see any problem or unsupported scenario.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17777
Liked: 1628 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Reuse the legacy, can it coexist ? how about legacy support ?

Post by veremin »

Personally I wouldn't run both applications on the same machine. If it's absolutely necessary, make sure that two applications do not manage the same activity: application-consistent backups, tape backups, etc. Otherwise, multiple conflicts are expected.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Carlos.Gomes, restore-helper and 16 guests