Robocopy after backup jobs

VMware specific discussions

Robocopy after backup jobs

Veeam Logoby mc90cdric » Wed May 03, 2017 9:58 am

Hello,

I use scripts after jobs in Veeam B&R to execute batch scripts.
These scripts launch robocopy to copy the backups from the local disk to an another server by the network (LAN). I use Windows (7 and server 2k8).

When the second job has finished the backup of VMs, the script of the second job won't start before the script of the first job has finished.

In fact i can run 2 backup jobs in same time but i can't copy after 2 jobs in same time...

Can you help me about this problem ?

PS : Sorry for my english.

Regards.
mc90cdric
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 9:32 am
Full Name: Cedric Marcjan

Re: Robocopy after backup jobs

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Wed May 03, 2017 12:53 pm

Hi Cedric and welcome to the community!

Are you running scripts as post-job for each job?
Do you chain your backup jobs?
Is there a reason of using the robocopy?
Why not to use backup copy jobs that were designed to make copies of VM backups?

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 538
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Robocopy after backup jobs

Veeam Logoby mc90cdric » Wed May 03, 2017 1:28 pm

Hi, thank you !

DGrinev wrote:Are you running scripts as post-job for each job?

Yes, one script after one job.

DGrinev wrote:Do you chain your backup jobs?

Yes my second job start when the first job has finished.

DGrinev wrote:Is there a reason of using the robocopy?

I use robocopy because it's simple to externalize backups on external hard drive which are connected with usb 3.0 ports on an other computer because the server doesn't have usb 3.0 ports.
We also need to check if the external hard drive is the good hard drive, we check the day (For odd and even week).

DGrinev wrote:Why not to use backup copy jobs that were designed to make copies of VM backups?

I have never try this solution...
mc90cdric
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 9:32 am
Full Name: Cedric Marcjan

Re: Robocopy after backup jobs

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu May 04, 2017 12:55 pm

Chaining the jobs is a bad practice, please read this thread for details.
I assume that could be the reason of the problem with the scripts. You can try to remove the job chaining and see if the scripts will be executed as expected.

I'd highly recommend you to use the backup copy job as it provides you with a huge advantages against just copying backup files.
You will be protected against possible corrupted backups, as copy job creates a new independent backup chain on the target media.

If you have questions do not hesitate to ask.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 538
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukedaynz and 22 guests