sanpshot General Error

VMware specific discussions

sanpshot General Error

Veeam Logoby larry » Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:32 pm

Tring to do a backup I get “A general system error occurred”. Opening the VM web client and doing a snap shot I get the same error so it is not a Veeam issue but shows up in Veeam. When I look at the disk size of the VM it shows 0 gig. The VM is up and running and has a 60 gig c drive.

VMware 6 all patched, Veeam 8 patched. - yes will do 9 soon.
cause
Yesterday I deleted an old data store that had iso's on it. One vm had a iso mounted to the CDrom from this deleted datastore. Every time I snapshoted that VM it went to General Error. Disk size then showed 0 gig. If I migrate the VM to another data store it showed the disk at 60gig after. If I tried to snapshot then error back to zero. I then migrated back to first data store, set CD to client, now all works.

Thought it might help someone else so I posted this.
larry
Expert
 
Posts: 372
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker

Re: sanpshot General Error

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:36 pm

Thank you for the info.

Left over cd drives can be a pain. The following one liner changes the setting on all VM's to "Client Device":
Code: Select all
Get-VM | Get-CDDrive | Where { $_.IsoPath } | Set-CDDrive -NoMedia -Confirm:$false
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1504
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: sanpshot General Error

Veeam Logoby larry » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:49 pm

I could of used it this morning, did two sites manually. Thanks anyway. I think I will use you code to add to my code to report any snapshots, report both at once.
larry
Expert
 
Posts: 372
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dilupa and 20 guests