Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mconte
Service Provider
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 18, 2013 7:51 am
Full Name: Michele
Contact:

Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by mconte » Nov 11, 2013 4:48 pm

I would like to know if I can share a Veeam proxy (and/or a repository) between different veeam backup servers.
I read in another message that it was not possible with Veeam 6.x. Is it possible now in Veeam 7.0 ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by foggy » Nov 11, 2013 9:23 pm

Michele, I believe it's the same as previously: the number of concurrent tasks per proxy and repository is counted within each backup server independently. So you should keep this in mind when considering your backup load, especially with parallel processing enabled.

Tobias_Elfstrom
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jul 04, 2012 6:32 am
Full Name: Tobias Elfstrom
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Tobias_Elfstrom » Nov 12, 2013 7:49 am

It was possible with 6.5 at least and still is in 7.x but as Alexander says, keep in mind how many task you permit from each server.
BR Tobias.

mconte
Service Provider
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 18, 2013 7:51 am
Full Name: Michele
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by mconte » Nov 12, 2013 8:27 am

It's perfect, since I only need a "twin" backup server for training/test purposes only, without any activity in the production backup window.

v.tom
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 4 times
Joined: May 06, 2014 2:28 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

[MERGED] Using 1 repository for 2 veeam instances

Post by v.tom » Jun 02, 2014 9:07 am

Hi,

Is it possible that I can use one repository for two Veeam instances at the same time?
VMCE certified

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 02, 2014 9:16 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, you can do that, but please check the considerations about tasks limit in the post above.

haennerson
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 28, 2015 2:47 pm
Full Name: Simon Haeni
Contact:

[MERGED] Multiple Backup Server, One Repository Server

Post by haennerson » Mar 28, 2015 2:50 pm

Hi Community

My question is if it is possible to have two Backup Server and only one Repository Server.
I will not use the same path, only the same server.

Regards, Simon

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Multiple Backup Server, One Repository Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 28, 2015 2:58 pm

Hi Simon,

Sharing repositories is not possible, however you can create multiple repositories on the same server. Can you please let me know what you're trying to achieve?

Thanks!

haennerson
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 28, 2015 2:47 pm
Full Name: Simon Haeni
Contact:

Re: Multiple Backup Server, One Repository Server

Post by haennerson » Mar 28, 2015 3:07 pm

Hi Vitaliy

Thx for your answer. Yes I will do on the same server one Reposiotory for each Backup Server.
Our Backup Server is directly attached to a Storage (SAS) and to a tape library.
And I would like to use two different backup server (internaly infrastructure and one for customer).

Do you undestand this?

Regards, Simon

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 28, 2015 7:15 pm

Yes, please review the configuration limitations in the post above that you should keep in mind. Do you provide backup a service to your customer?

haennerson
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 28, 2015 2:47 pm
Full Name: Simon Haeni
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by haennerson » Mar 29, 2015 10:47 am

ok thanks for your answer - yes we provide Cloud Backup to our customer! :-)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 29, 2015 3:14 pm

Have you considered using Veeam Cloud Connect infrastructure for this scenario?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16999
Liked: 1455 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by veremin » Mar 30, 2015 9:59 am

haennerson wrote:ok thanks for your answer - yes we provide Cloud Backup to our customer! :-)
Since you're leveraging Cloud Connect, you must be a in our VCP program and, thus, should have access to Cloud Connect SP private forum.

If need be, you can post there CC specific questions and get feedback from other providers using Cloud Connect. Just open the user management page of these forums and apply to that said forum.

Thanks.

Gve
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 28, 2015 3:28 pm
Full Name: Guillaume
Location: France
Contact:

[MERGED] Share repository beteween 2 Veeam backups Servers

Post by Gve » Sep 14, 2016 12:14 pm

Is it possible to share One repository beteween 2 différents backups serveurs ?

Is supported ?

Regards

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by foggy » Sep 14, 2016 12:18 pm

Hi Guillaume, this is possible, but keep in mind some considerations mentioned above.

Squish
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 12:25 pm
Full Name: Ondřej Kraus
Contact:

[MERGED] Repository from another backup server

Post by Squish » Feb 16, 2017 12:29 pm

Hi colleagues,

I was wondering if this is possible:
I have a backup server A, and backup server B. Backup server B has a repository (repository B). Is it possible to use repository B as a copy job target on backup server A ?
What I mean can I mount somehow repository from another backup server ?

Thank you!

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Repository from another backup server

Post by DGrinev » Feb 16, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi Ondřej,

This is possible but not recommended scenario because of a few reasonable issues:
1. The number of concurrent tasks is counted separately by each backup server. They are not aware of each other resource usage.
2. Versions have to be identical. Otherwise it will not work.
Please, keep it in mind when considering your backup load.

Also, review existing thread above for additional details.
Thanks!

rome1423
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 15, 2017 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by rome1423 » Feb 23, 2017 4:45 am

hi I have queries on this like Squish :

I have a backup server A (veeam v7) and Repositories A (filled with VM backups) in old vcenter 5.1, and will setup a New Backup Server B (veeam v9.5) with empty Repositories B in new vCenter 6.
I want to migrate (by copy) VMs in old vCenter to new vCenter using Backup Server B.
Both new and old infra temporary connect on local LAN for datacenter migration. All Veeam are VMs, repository server have physical RDM (FC SAN) attached for backup storage.

1. Is it true I can't add Repositories A to Backup Server B for VM restore/Replica Seed/BackupCopy job because of different Veeam versions?
2. Can I copy (normal windows explorer way or use shared folder on repositories A) required backups from repositories A to repositories B then do VM restore/Replica Seed jobs ?
3. How about Importing Backups from repositories A to Backup Server B ? Require to add Windows server (with Repository A) from which I plan to import backups must be added to Veeam Backup & Replication (to Backup Server B)...

from the link: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/ ... e_hiw.html
You may need to import backups to Veeam Backup & Replication in the following situations:
▪ The Veeam backup server has failed and you have restored it in a new location. You want to restore VM data from backups created by the Veeam backup server that has failed.
▪ You want to restore VM data from backups created on other Veeam backup servers. -->does it apply to my scenario ?
▪ You want to restore VM data from backups on the backup repository that is not connected to Veeam Backup & Replication -->does it apply to my scenario ?
▪ You want to restore VM data from VeeamZIP files created on your Veeam backup server or other Veeam backup servers.

4. for some important VMs i'd like to use Replica job (by Seeding) then do Permanent Planned Failover at cutover period to minimize downtime.
If Replicating Exchange DAG clusters of 2 VMs or SQL clusters, anything to watch out for in Replication job and Planned Failover ?
Any suggestions?

thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 24, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi rome1423,
rome1423 wrote:1. Is it true I can't add Repositories A to Backup Server B for VM restore/Replica Seed/BackupCopy job because of different Veeam versions?
Yes, that's correct. The primary reason is that Veeam processes from version 7 will be upgraded to version 9.5 right after you add the same server as a repository to the Veeam backup console 9.5.
rome1423 wrote:2. Can I copy (normal windows explorer way or use shared folder on repositories A) required backups from repositories A to repositories B then do VM restore/Replica Seed jobs ?
Yes, absolutely. Moving backup files manually is fully supported. Out of curiosity, why not to upgrade the v7 installation?
rome1423 wrote:3. How about Importing Backups from repositories A to Backup Server B ? Require to add Windows server (with Repository A) from which I plan to import backups must be added to Veeam Backup & Replication (to Backup Server B)...
Backup files structure has to upgraded too in this case. As far as I remember you don't have any VBM files in the backup repository hosted by a v7 backup server, right?
rome1423 wrote:▪You want to restore VM data from backups created on other Veeam backup servers. -->does it apply to my scenario ?
Yes, but since you're running different versions of Veeam backup servers, it is highly recommended to do the upgrade first, run the job once and then complete the migration.
rome1423 wrote:4. for some important VMs i'd like to use Replica job (by Seeding) then do Permanent Planned Failover at cutover period to minimize downtime. If Replicating Exchange DAG clusters of 2 VMs or SQL clusters, anything to watch out for in Replication job and Planned Failover ?
Any suggestions?
There is a huge thread about Exchange DAG, but still worth a reading through. The migration process should be straightforward, but you need test everything out once migration is complete before doing the final switch.

Thanks!

rome1423
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 15, 2017 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by rome1423 » Feb 28, 2017 9:35 am

Vitaliy S. wrote: Yes, absolutely. Moving backup files manually is fully supported. Out of curiosity, why not to upgrade the v7 installation?
Thanks, the v7 is on win2008r2 on old hosts, we are doing a hardware and virtual infra refresh to Win2012R2 VMs, vCenter 6 and Veeam 9.5.
It seems there is a backup vlan defined in my customer's the old vSphere 5 infra. Customer only use Veeam and no in-guest backup software.

Is there recommended setup info on:
Using a Backup vlan in vSphere for Veeam backup traffic only.
All Veeam VMs (VB&R with Availability Suite, Proxy+Repository VMs) on this Backup Lan.
1- the VMs not needed to join domain/contact the Domain AD ?
2.- the ESXi hosts Mgmt network is on Production vlan (mandatory). ESXi Physical NICs are 2 x 10G fibre that trunk all vlans.

Or on Veeam VMs add 2 vNICs,
1 Prod vlan for Veeam config/mgmt and Domain authentication,
1 Backup vlan for data transfer only ( Need DNS resolution for Backup IP range? No need gateway? )

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 02, 2017 5:26 pm

rome1423 wrote: Is there recommended setup info on:
Using a Backup vlan in vSphere for Veeam backup traffic only.
All Veeam VMs (VB&R with Availability Suite, Proxy+Repository VMs) on this Backup Lan.
1- the VMs not needed to join domain/contact the Domain AD ?
2.- the ESXi hosts Mgmt network is on Production vlan (mandatory). ESXi Physical NICs are 2 x 10G fibre that trunk all vlans.

Or on Veeam VMs add 2 vNICs,
1 Prod vlan for Veeam config/mgmt and Domain authentication,
1 Backup vlan for data transfer only ( Need DNS resolution for Backup IP range? No need gateway? )
The main thing to keep in mind is that all Veeam backup components should have two nics (for backup traffic and production network data). VMs might only be connected to production network, if backup proxy can access these VMs via hotadd/direct SAN mode.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], tommy.lidal and 25 guests