SureBackup Error - CentOS 6.5 - Case # 02110675

VMware specific discussions

SureBackup Error - CentOS 6.5 - Case # 02110675

Veeam Logoby ItDept_MMB » Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:53 pm

Hi everyone,
two weeks ago I added a new VM to one of my daily backup jobs.
I converted this server from P2V using VMware converter official tool.
My production environment is Vmware vSphere 6.0 U2b, vCenter server appliance 6.5 up to date, Veeam B&R 9.5 Update1.
The VM is a CentOS 6.5 server with open vmware tools installed and up to date and kernel version 2.6.32-431.11.2.el6.x86_64
I have a Virtual Lab in my infrastructure with basic configuration and all default settings.
When I run the Surebackup job for this VM server, Veeam gives me error result because can't see the VM booting in the allotted time.
The server has only one network interface, set to boot with the machine, static IP address and HWADDR line commented.
The production VM is working properly.
When Veeam publishes the backup VM, the vcenter server gives me a VM MAC conflict warning, but the surebackup VM is correctly booting in avery short time, and I can have access to it from the VMware console.
The second strange thing is that when I get control of the surebackup VM and I try to restart the network service I get this error:
Bringing up interface eth0: Device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization.
It seems to me that Veeam, when reconfiguring the VM for the SureBackup, doesn't add network interface on the eth0, or something like that.
Thank you for your help.

Alessandro
ItDept_MMB
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:21 pm

Re: SureBackup Error - CentOS 6.5 - Case # 02110675

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:55 pm

This is best handled by support as deeper investigation is probably needed.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1624
Liked: 361 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: SureBackup Error - CentOS 6.5 - Case # 02110675

Veeam Logoby kbergros » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:19 pm

Hi...

Have the same problem, has a case at Veeam but they say the problems is with vmware-tools and I should contact Vmware. But your description is exactly like my problem.
Did you get a solution for this?
kbergros
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:16 pm
Full Name: Kenneth Bergholm


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest