Surebackup Snapshot removal

VMware specific discussions

Surebackup Snapshot removal

Veeam Logoby VladV » Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:50 am

I noticed for some time that our Surebackup times increased. It seems that the increase is caused by the following:

VDDK for VMware vSphere 6.0 does not support independent disks. For this reason, Veeam Backup & Replication takes a snapshot of the verified VM when the SureBackup job starts, and writes changes made to the VM to the delta file. By default, Veeam Backup & Replication deletes the snapshot when the SureBackup job completes.
The snapshot commit process may take much time. If you do not want to commit the snapshot, you can create the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\SureBackup\RemoveVmSnapshot (REG_DWORD) registry key and set its value to 1. In this case, Veeam Backup & Replication will not delete the created VM snapshot, and the SureBackup job performance may improve. For more information, contact Veeam Support Team.


I would like to know what are the consequences of disabling snapshot deletion.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
VladV
Expert
 
Posts: 214
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:38 am
Full Name: Vlad Valeriu Velciu

Re: Surebackup Snapshot removal

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:08 pm 1 person likes this post

Sometimes, deleting a VM with uncommitted snapshots leaves leftovers on datastores (due to some VMware bug), so you'd want to setup some monitoring. Veeam ONE can do this for you, if you own one (no pun intended).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, ssjgogeta and 13 guests