Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
fredjjg
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 18, 2010 3:53 pm
Full Name: frederic joneau
Contact:

surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manner"

Post by fredjjg » Nov 18, 2010 4:10 pm

Hello,

I installed sure backup this week and it is a great product!
Since, I test and each time I start a job, it failed for 90% of my server.
Error is the same : "vmware tools did not start in a timely manner"

I tried to increase the "start up time" for "maximum boot time and application time out but it is the same.
I tried to change the "boot verification", same problem.

I'm sure that VMWare tools are installed on production VM.
When the VM is restored, it takes time to start the VM but at the end, the VMware tools are running.

Could you help me?

Thank you

Fred

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24019
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Gostev » Nov 18, 2010 4:48 pm

Hi Fred, strange - this has not been reported before. Please open a support case to let our technical staff inverstigate this deeper. Thanks!

fredjjg
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 18, 2010 3:53 pm
Full Name: frederic joneau
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by fredjjg » Nov 18, 2010 4:53 pm

Thank you Gostev, I will open a support case.

ptmartin
Enthusiast
Posts: 46
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2010 3:35 pm
Full Name: Paul Martin
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by ptmartin » Nov 19, 2010 5:15 pm

Hi again Anton -- add me to this list as well. Same symptoms ... "vmware tools did not start in a timely manner." This is while starting the DC in the lab environment. Timeout is set at 2100 seconds for the machine in the application group (35 minutes) so there should be ample time for the machine to startup I would think. I've also disabled vmware tools as a requirement for a successful startup and tryied again. Interestingly enough, the failure message was the same ... I've been throught the user guide, the v5 FAQ document, and researched the forum without success.

I've opened a support ticket as well - #542616

Session Information Follows:
11/19/2010 11:30:01 AM Getting virtual lab configuration
11/19/2010 11:30:34 AM Starting virtual lab routing engine
11/19/2010 11:30:45 AM PGI-DC1: Publishing
11/19/2010 11:30:50 AM PGI-DC1: Updating configuration
11/19/2010 11:30:56 AM PGI-DC1: Registering
11/19/2010 11:31:40 AM PGI-DC1: Configuring DC
11/19/2010 11:31:42 AM PGI-DC1: Configuring networks
11/19/2010 12:06:59 PM Fail PGI-DC1: Powering on
VMware Tools did not start in a timely manner
11/19/2010 12:06:59 PM Fail
VMware Tools did not start in a timely manner
11/19/2010 12:06:59 PM Sending email report
11/19/2010 12:07:04 PM PGI-DC1: Powering off
11/19/2010 12:07:05 PM PGI-DC1: Unregistering
11/19/2010 12:07:08 PM PGI-DC1: Cleaning up redo logs
11/19/2010 12:07:09 PM PGI-DC1: Unpublishing
11/19/2010 12:07:14 PM Stopping virtual lab routing engine
11/19/2010 12:07:14 PM Fail
VMware Tools did not start in a timely manner
11/19/2010 12:07:17 PM Job finished

Thanks again in advance,
Paul

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24019
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Gostev » Nov 19, 2010 7:44 pm

Hi Paul, did you try to open PGI-DC1 console around 10 minutes after the VM has been powered on, and see whats up with this VM and whether VMware Tools are in fact running?

ptmartin
Enthusiast
Posts: 46
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2010 3:35 pm
Full Name: Paul Martin
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by ptmartin » Nov 19, 2010 7:54 pm

I did and it looked ok once it had completed "rebuilding indices" presumably for active directory(?). The Vsphere client also confirmed that VMware tools were running so I'm at a loss on this one ...

MSoft
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 22, 2010 3:23 am
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by MSoft » Nov 23, 2010 6:51 am

Hi, any feedbackup on this issue as I'm having the same problem?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22301
Liked: 1414 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 23, 2010 10:18 am

Hello, as far as I know Paul's case is still being investigated, so please contact our technical team for assistance as well. By the way, please make sure you're running the latest tools in the VM which you've added to SureBackup job.

Arnold
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: May 14, 2010 9:33 am
Full Name: Arnold
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Arnold » Nov 23, 2010 2:18 pm

I had the same issue as the OP, what I forgot was that before I took a backup of the VM I disconnected the vNIC. On restore it displayed this exact same error.

Even disabling VMWare Tools and Ping as a pre-req of the Surebackup job made no difference.

If I connected the vNIC back and then took another backup, upon restore everything worked fine.

ptmartin
Enthusiast
Posts: 46
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2010 3:35 pm
Full Name: Paul Martin
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by ptmartin » Nov 23, 2010 5:14 pm

That is correct Vitality - it is being escalated to level 3 and involving some dev assistance potentially I am told. So far the only real progress has only been made in getting the lab to come up properly. We had to manually configure the proxy device rather than use the automatically configured settings. It does not look like the automatic configuration can work. The assigned IP should be an IP from the virtual machine network and for whatever reason, the automatic configuration gives it a 192.168.1.x IP address.

Now regarding VMWare tools .. I had to disable tools heartbeat detection in the configured application group servers (a DC and my email server) in order to start these properly and continue. These take an incredibly long time to come up by the way. I am loking at something between 30 and 60 minutes each time I make a change to test. Nobody knows why yet as far as I can tell.

I can get to a point where a machine is finally starting to be backed up but again, for whatever reason it fails to detect that VMware tools are installed and results in a failed backup. I have even disabled this check on the individual servers and so far have not had a lot of success - it still checks and fails even though virtual center says tols are there and running (the proper version by the way).

That's about it so far. The length of time it takes for the environment to come up makes testing and troubleshooting a real test of patience and does not allow for quick progression toward a solution. More to follow as progress is made ... :|

cbdbwalker
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Full Name: Brandon Walker
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by cbdbwalker » Nov 23, 2010 6:33 pm

I am having this same issue as well on both my DC and Exchange server. I cannot even get the SureBackup for DC to work if I configure it as just a linked job and not part of an application group. That server also takes an incredibly long time to start. I'm going to open up a case of my own but I will follow this thread, hopefully we can get a resolution to this...

ptmartin
Enthusiast
Posts: 46
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2010 3:35 pm
Full Name: Paul Martin
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by ptmartin » Nov 23, 2010 6:48 pm

First thing to try is increase the start time delay timer. The servers in my app group are set at 2100 seconds for the DC (be sure to deselect VMware Tools heartbeat is present), and Exchange is set at 1800 seconds (again with deselecting VMware Tools). The servers in the backup operation are set at 1200 seconds delay.

Alexey D.

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Alexey D. » Nov 23, 2010 7:55 pm

Folks,

Paul is right, first thing to try is increasing these timeouts.
Also, please take in account following points:
- make sure that target datastore where VBK resides has a good link to backup console, and there are sufficient IOPS left to serve VMs' startup from compressed/deduped VBK;
- also, enough resources (mem, CPU) are available at ESX hosting your virtual lab;

The lack of resources may be a direct showstopper.
Please check this and let us know how things go.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24019
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by Gostev » Nov 23, 2010 9:10 pm

You can simply open temp VM console in vSphere client, and see if it is booted, and if VMware Tools are in fact running in system tray.

cbdbwalker
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Full Name: Brandon Walker
Contact:

Re: surebackup "vmware tools did not start in a timely manne

Post by cbdbwalker » Nov 23, 2010 9:21 pm

I've set my timeouts for 45 minutes and I've been watching the console. The DC will boot into safemode, attempt to shutdown and then hang. It will never reboot into normal mode to continue the SureBackup job. There is no CPU, Disk or Network activity, but I can move the mouse around in the console. After the timeout, the VM powers down and the job fails.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DonZoomik, mazl7 and 29 guests