Testing Veeam Replication

VMware specific discussions

Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:55 am

Hi,

We are using V8 of veeam backup, and would like to test veeam replication.

Backups run at the moment every evening, and full backup on Friday evening.

Can the Veeam backups run along side the replication jobs? or will this cause issues?

as we are testing, we did not want to disable the backup jobs.

Any other pointers appreciated.

Have downloaded the user guide to read trough later today.

Thanks
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:19 am

Hi,

If you have two jobs trying to either backup or replicate the same VM at the same time, one of the jobs will wait until the first one ends. Please consider using post job script in order to avoid that problem.

Thanks.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:41 am

Okay, thanks.

I have failed over, made a change and then failed back to production - onto existing VM.

We have 1 Veeam server (proxy) the DR ESX Host is in the same switch (on a different Vlan)

The fail back process is really slow - is this normal?

Code: Select all
28/09/2015 10:27:04          Failback started at 28/09/2015 10:27:04
28/09/2015 10:27:42          Queued for processing at 28/09/2015 10:27:42
28/09/2015 10:27:48          Preparing next VM for processing
28/09/2015 10:27:43          Required backup infrastructure resources have been assigned
28/09/2015 10:27:43          No available proxies are running on ESX(i) management interface subnet. Using proxies from a different subnet, performance may be impacted.
28/09/2015 10:27:48          Using source proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]
28/09/2015 10:27:50          Using target proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]
28/09/2015 10:27:52          Preparing original VM
28/09/2015 10:28:01          Creating working snapshot on original VM
28/09/2015 10:35:26          Calculating original signature Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB) 55% at 0 KB/s
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:01 am

How long does it take in total to failback? Please note, that during the failback to the original VM Veeam B&R needs to calculate and synchronize the differences between the original VM and the replica VM. The time required to scan the VM image depends on its size and is comparable to the full backup time of this VM. Also, in your case this

28/09/2015 10:27:43 No available proxies are running on ESX(i) management interface subnet. Using proxies from a different subnet, performance may be impacted.


means that source proxy pulls the data using network mode across WAN, instead of using hotadd mode and transferring data between proxies. Please check both target and source proxy availability.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:05 am

Fallback took 15mins.

this was a small VM. Would veeam be okay with a 4TB VM?

Can i install a Veeam proxy on the DR VC? is there any licence implications? as the live environment is licensed.
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:27 am

Can i install a Veeam proxy on the DR VC? is there any licence implications? as the live environment is licensed.
Sure, that should speed up the process. The product components (proxies, backup repositories, backup servers) are not licensed separately. You can deploy as many of these components as you like while licensed to the correct number of sockets. So everything should go smooth.

this was a small VM.
How small was it?

]Would veeam be okay with a 4TB VM?
That depends on your connection and on how much data change will have happened to that VM. For example Exchange failback may take hours.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:27 pm

VM is 20GB.

I have now installed a backup proxy.

VM failed over, copied a small folder no more then 100mb, and failed back.

Process took 20 mins.

Code: Select all
28/09/2015 12:39:28          Failback started at 28/09/2015 12:39:28
28/09/2015 12:40:06          Queued for processing at 28/09/2015 12:40:06
28/09/2015 12:40:11          Preparing next VM for processing
28/09/2015 12:40:06          Required backup infrastructure resources have been assigned
28/09/2015 12:40:11          Using source proxy 10.216.4.51 [nbd]
28/09/2015 12:40:13          Using target proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]
28/09/2015 12:40:16          Preparing original VM
28/09/2015 12:40:24          Creating working snapshot on original VM
28/09/2015 12:59:57          Calculating original signature Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB)
28/09/2015 13:00:13          Replicating restore point for Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB) 767.5 MB processed
28/09/2015 13:00:16          Creating replica restore point
28/09/2015 13:00:56          Replicating changes Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB) 982.0 MB processed
28/09/2015 13:01:07          Removing working snapshot from original VM
28/09/2015 13:01:09          Powering on original VM
28/09/2015 13:01:26          Failback completed at 28/09/2015 13:01:26
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:41 pm

28/09/2015 12:40:11 Using source proxy 10.216.4.51 [nbd]
28/09/2015 12:40:13 Using target proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]
For some reason your proxies are still used in Network Block Device mode instead of hotadd. Please check with this article and the link provided in order to troubleshoot.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:46 am

Okay looking into the link this morning.

I had just changed the proxy to use automatic mode rather then network.

the Failback is quicker then before...8 mins it took, last try was 15 - as 20 the time before that


Also @ the point of Calculating original signature Hard Disk 1 at 0 KB/S is this normal?


Code: Select all
29/09/2015 10:30:06          Failback started at 29/09/2015 10:30:06
29/09/2015 10:30:46          Queued for processing at 29/09/2015 10:30:46
29/09/2015 10:30:51          Preparing next VM for processing
29/09/2015 10:30:46          Required backup infrastructure resources have been assigned
29/09/2015 10:30:51          Using source proxy 10.216.4.51 [nbd]
29/09/2015 10:30:54          Using target proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]
29/09/2015 10:30:56          Preparing original VM
29/09/2015 10:31:04          Creating working snapshot on original VM
29/09/2015 10:39:50          Calculating original signature Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB)
29/09/2015 10:40:13          Replicating restore point for Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB) 899.0 MB processed
29/09/2015 10:40:16          Creating replica restore point
29/09/2015 10:40:50          Replicating changes Hard disk 1 (20.0 GB) 698.0 MB processed
29/09/2015 10:40:56          Removing working snapshot from original VM
29/09/2015 10:40:58          Powering on original VM
29/09/2015 10:41:16          Failback completed at 29/09/2015 10:41:16
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:03 am

I suppose that failback went faster this time due to a lesser amount of changes that had to be committed to an original VM. As you can see from this log
29/09/2015 10:30:51 Using source proxy 10.216.4.51 [nbd]
29/09/2015 10:30:54 Using target proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]

your proxies are still using NBD mode. Please force both of your proxies to use Virtual Appliance mode so we can check if it's even available in your case. If it's not available then we will attempt to find the reason why.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:05 am

Cool, just tried Virtual Appliance Mode - still says NBD - even thought network fail over is disabled.

Will carry on working my way through the link.
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:17 am

Cool, just tried Virtual Appliance Mode - still says NBD - even thought network fail over is disabled.
Looks like something went very wrong - please open a case with our support team so they can take a look at your logs and post your case ID here.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:21 am

Done :-)

[ID# 01069765]
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby samuk » Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:10 am

HI Just an update - think i need to explain the current environment:

2 environments SAN's are not linked.

LIVE Environment
3 ESX hosts (vsphere 5.5)
1 VC (VM)
1 Veeam Server & Proxy(Physical)
3 Par SAN

DR Environment
3 ESX Hosts
Veeam Proxy - Physical
EVA 3PAr SAN

Replication is occurring over the network - currently @ 5MB\s

Have exchanged afew emails with Vitaliy - and hot add is only supported if the Veeam proxy is installed on a VM on both locations.

Waiting for confirmation on this, and i will do this if everything else fits and will work.

have pointed him to this thread.
samuk
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam

Re: Testing Veeam Replication

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:15 am

and hot add is only supported if the Veeam proxy is installed on a VM on both locations.
Correct! It's mentioned in this troubleshooting article:

The Proxy being used to back up the VM must be a Virtual Machine on a host that is able to access the datastore where the source VM’s disks are stored.


:)
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DGrinev, rweis and 32 guests