Upgrade to vSphere 6 - how?

VMware specific discussions

Upgrade to vSphere 6 - how?

Veeam Logoby Keyser » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:05 am

Hi

Once patch 2 and vSphere 6 support comes along, i'm planning to upgrade my testlab (one server) to test things, but I actually have quite a few VM's running in my lab, so a couple of questions about the upgrade arises:

Updating Veeam to Patch 2 is a non issue but:

1: When I "migrate/update" my vCenter Virtual Appliance to the vSphere 6 appliance, will that work transparently for Veeam as the new appliance has the same name and config as the old appliance?

The next step is upgrading my ESXi but:

2: For several different reasons i'm hoping to reinstall ESXi from scratch instead of upgrading it. But reinstalling it means a loss of config and inventory.
If I choose to reinstall, I'm going to have to add the VM's to inventory again from scratch to be able to power up the vCenter appliance.
As far as I can tell this will cause vCenter to see the host and the VM's as new entites, and cause Veeam jobs to stop working and require me to change my backup jobs to include the "new" VM's. Is that correct?

What I'm trying to avoid at all cost is the need to run a new full backup of my testlab VM's. I want the incremental forever to continue where it left the VM in 5.5U2. Is that possible?

-Keyser
Keyser
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:11 am

Re: Upgrade to vSphere 6 - how?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:52 pm

Keyser, your understanding is correct. As far as VM moref IDs do not change during your upgrade procedures, you're fine and should not get into any issues. In case of re-registering VMs in VI, their IDs will change and you would need to re-add VMs into jobs, causing a subsequent full backup.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14751
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Upgrade to vSphere 6 - how?

Veeam Logoby Keyser » Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:07 pm

I understand this issue only exists for one ESXi host solutions as vmotion could solve the problem by always having one host and therefore vcenter online.

Are there's no workarounds I can use to reinstall ESXi if I don't want a new full backup?
I'm thinking:
1: some kind of host config backup that can be restored to the new vSphere 6.0 host so VM ID's does not change.
2: some way to map existing backupfiles/jobs for a VM to a new VM ID.
Keyser
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:11 am

Re: Upgrade to vSphere 6 - how?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:32 am

Keyser, don't you have at least another ESXi? If you can move the VM into another host during ESXi upgrades moref will be kept. If you don't have vmotion in your license you can leverage Veeam Quick Migration.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5052
Liked: 1333 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests