Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
WayneH
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by WayneH » Dec 08, 2011 3:12 pm

I've filled out a support request but did not include the SAN type, etc.

For those interested, we are having the issue with EMC VNX5300's connected via 10Gb iSCSI (Intel X520-DA2 NICs and Cisco 5548 switches). Veeam is running on a Dell R510 with 2008 R2 with PowerPath installed. Sometimes SAN mode works but the majority of time it uses the network.

pinkerton
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2011 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by pinkerton » Dec 08, 2011 3:37 pm

btw it is just great that your're keeping us up to speed here. Most companies structures are so complex today and it is so diffcult to get information. I really like how Veeam handles this.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 3:41 pm

No problems. Sorry for delay - the problem we had today is that none of pilot customers for whom the pilot patch did NOT work (for most, it helped as expected) were able to work with us to troubleshoot, so we lost much time for nothing. I even suggested to support that I could ask on forum for help... but they have at least one customer available now.

Guess this is what happens when the issue is not so critical :D

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 4:07 pm

If anyone having this issue is available today and/or tomorrow to do a webex with our support to validate the fix, please open a support case and include the link to this topic a part of your submission text as well as preferred time. Thanks!

Code: Select all

http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=9535 

EdwardPoll
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2011 9:03 am
Full Name: Edward Poll
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by EdwardPoll » Dec 08, 2011 4:09 pm

No one has tried to contact us today....via phone, email or forums.....wasted day all round then, as I've just sat here waiting for Veeam to contact me....grrrr

Gostev, can you get support or someone to contact us, we are more than willing to help, tomorrow if not today..

Our outstanding ticket id is ID#5158692

Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 4:13 pm

Edward, it sounds like you may have wrong expectations. Most affected customers should not expect to be contacted by our support until the fix is validated. This is normal support process, we cannot be distributing unvalidated fix widely.

Thanks for your offer to help validating the fix, I have forwarded your support case ID to QC and they are calling you right now - please pick up the phone :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 5:11 pm

OK, so we need more pilot customers now, since the fix does help in the Edward's environment. We are still trying to reach those two for whom the fix did NOT help - this would be ideal - hope they will read this.

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by aweiss » Dec 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Anton, let me know if you need, i leave my customer site but i kept a VPN access to be able to apply the fix ASAP. By the way, I also opened a new case for problem regarding VSS Freeze Time out since upgrade. (SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade) Rgds Alex

ph0en1x1
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 08, 2011 3:16 am
Full Name: Mark Williams
Contact:

Very Dissapointed with V6

Post by ph0en1x1 » Dec 08, 2011 9:51 pm

[merged]

We have multiple EMC Sans and backup around 250 VM's per night totalling 20TB. We had the issue whereby the backups were not being performed direct from the San but would always fail over to the Lan. This made our backups impossible because of the data concerned and the Lan speed. We followed the supposed solution to this in the sticky by manually selecting our datastores but this made no difference. We were then informed that there would be an imminent fix for this.

After waiting we are now told that the fix is not immenent and there is no ETA.

We have had to uninstall V6 and revert to V5

My question for the developers is " Why was this basic functionality tested before release before allowing your customers to upgrade in a production environment"

Regards

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 9:55 pm

Alexandre, what is the case ID for SAN issue?

We are at the limited release stage for this patch right now, testing it on select customers. So far, have fixed the issue for all 4 who applied, including one of those who previously reported that the same patch did not help (probably due to environmental issue). If everything keep going well with a few more pilot deployments, we will be able to do the public release tomorrow.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2011 9:59 pm

Mark, what is your support case ID? We are interested to try out the patch on various SAN models, since it appeared to be storage specific issue. As far as I know, some EMC SAN are indeed affected.
ph0en1x1 wrote:My question for the developers is " Why was this basic functionality tested before release before allowing your customers to upgrade in a production environment"
Because we do not have every possible SAN make and model in our labs. We did have 2 months long private beta with many existing customers, however apparently even that was not enough to cover all possible models.

Thanks!

Jamie
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 4:15 am
Full Name: Jamie Coutts
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Jamie » Dec 09, 2011 12:52 am

Hi,
I have this issue and am happy to try a 'beta' patch
SAN is a Clariion CX-320
Case 5159001

Cheers,

Jamie

EdwardPoll
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2011 9:03 am
Full Name: Edward Poll
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by EdwardPoll » Dec 09, 2011 7:01 am

Hi guys....yep can confirm it works for us, last night we stopped the Veeam proxies from failing back to NBD and we are 100% successful this morning.

For comparison sake, our environments is........

2 x HP EVA8400 running XCS 10000000
2 x EMC NS480 (CX4-480) connected over FC running Flare 6.0.41.4 on the Control Station with Clariion Code 04.30.000.5.517
HP Blades (BL460C)
Brocade fabric
vSphere 5.0.0,504890

Oh and the vStorage API is manually disabled in vSphere when talking to the Clariions (CX4-480) because of a bug/imcompatibility between vsphere 5 and the curently releases of Flare.

Thanks

Ed

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by aweiss » Dec 09, 2011 10:04 am

Gostev wrote:Alexandre, what is the case ID for SAN issue?

We are at the limited release stage for this patch right now, testing it on select customers. So far, have fixed the issue for all 4 who applied, including one of those who previously reported that the same patch did not help (probably due to environmental issue). If everything keep going well with a few more pilot deployments, we will be able to do the public release tomorrow.
Anton : case is 5159136 (SAN Direct Access)
Case for VSS issu is 5159575
Alex

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by aweiss » Dec 09, 2011 10:07 am

About which SAN, i have CX4-120 and a collegue runs with Compellent SC40 (Dell)

cake
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2009 3:11 pm
Full Name: Carsten
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by cake » Dec 09, 2011 10:51 am

Hello,

When i started an Backup Job it uses the NBD mode.

"09.12.2011 11:25:01 :: Using source proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]"

Why?

Where do i get this Patch, or is this normal?
We have 3 x EMC CX4-480 and 1 x EMC CX4-240
Backup Server is a Fujitsu RX300 with 2 HBA.
The Backup LUN is 30TB.
The Backup see all LUNs from the ESXi Server
vsphere 5.0.0
Brocade Fibre Switch for the SAN.
HP Switch for Production and Backup LAN


Thx Carsten

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 09, 2011 11:37 am

Hi Carsten, please read this topic, as well as sticky "before you upgrade" topic.

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by aweiss » Dec 09, 2011 2:34 pm

Hi Guys
Veeam Support just phoned me to connect via webex. Hotfix1 is applyed and san direct acces problem is now resolved on a test job. I'll wait to see with other job tonight but should be ok. Still waiting for a fix on VSS Timeout error with SQL
Thks Anton and also to your team even if we would all wishes not having these troubles ;)

fnbuser
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by fnbuser » Dec 09, 2011 9:24 pm

We are having this problem as well. Support ticket ID#5159797.

Our SAN is a Clariion CX320.

I posted a new topic about this problem a little while ago (which may be stuck in moderation) before seeing this thread, so I apologize for that.

-Jason

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 09, 2011 11:35 pm

Hi Jason, our support started sending the official patch to all affected customers just a few hours earlier - so you should expect to be contacted soon. Thanks!

WinstonWolf
Expert
Posts: 200
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2011 8:33 am
Contact:

B&R 6,Unable to establish direct connection to SAN

Post by WinstonWolf » Dec 10, 2011 8:06 am

[merged]

Hello ,
Some words about my environment ,
My Backup & Replication 6 proxy is an W7 64bit Computer ( IntelCore I5 , 4 GB RAM ) , he Backups to an ISCSI Target ( Qnap TS 419 NAS ) over ISCSI Initiator from Windows.
My virtual Machines vmdk Files are stored on another Qnap ( TS 459 NAS ) which is connected via ISCSI to an ESX 4.1 U2 Server .
On my ESX Server i have an Vcenter Server Appliance as an VM running.

Now my first question , should i say that my vcenter is my Server or should i choose the ESX Server himself ?

And now to my Problem ,
When i backup my virtual Machines at the Moment over the ESX Server himself i become the follow Warning message :

"Unable to establish direct connection to the shared storage (SAN). Please ensure that: - HBA is properly installed in the Veeam Backup server computer, or software iSCSI initiator is configured correctly. - SAN volume can be seen by operating system in the Windows Disk Management snap-in on the Veeam Backup server. - Read access is allowed for the Veeam Backup server computer on the corresponding LUN (refer to your SAN documentation).
Direct SAN connection is not available, failing over to network mode..."

Is this a known Problem ? Waht means this Message ?

Thanks for Tips

Michael

dsmithpdx
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2011 10:48 pm
Full Name: Doug Smith
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by dsmithpdx » Dec 12, 2011 6:38 pm

Hi Gostev et. al.,

I am also receiving this "Unable to allocate processing resources" error, but our proxy is configured to use the Virtual Appliance transport mode rather than Direct SAN Access. Will this hotfix resolve our issue as well? We have four separate jobs that run, backing up a total of 17 VMs. All VMs backup successfully, except for the VM that runs Veeam itself as well as the backup proxy. That's the only one reporting this error. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Doug

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5468
Liked: 2284 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by tsightler » Dec 12, 2011 7:04 pm

Do you have failover to network mode disabled? A server cannot use hotadd to backup itself (known issue in release notes due to VDDK limitation). The system should detect this and failover to network mode or to another proxy, however, if network mode is disabled, or there is no other proxy available, then the message is technically correct, it is "Unable to allocate processing resource" due to the fact that no appropriate resources are available.

dsmithpdx
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 13, 2011 10:48 pm
Full Name: Doug Smith
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by dsmithpdx » Dec 12, 2011 8:55 pm

Indeed I do have failover to network mode disabled. Thank you!

jlh
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 15, 2011 9:23 am
Full Name: Jerry
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by jlh » Dec 21, 2011 12:39 pm

Hello,

it seems everyone is happy now that the patch is here, but me...

I am evaluating B&R 6 and I startet testing SAN access. It didn't work. I found the patch and installed it. For what ever reason after that some VMs worked and others didn't. Today I wanted to dig a little deeper and what worked yesterday, dosen't work today. Acually nothing works anymore. All I had done is turn off the server and back on this morning. Windows can see the LUNs but I'm getting the same errors as before. We have a DELL MD3000i. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Jerry

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25082
Liked: 3667 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Direct SAN Mode: Unable to allocate processing resour

Post by Gostev » Dec 21, 2011 12:53 pm

Yes, the patch had helped everyone so far - all the corresponding support cases are closed. First things to check is whether you have all LUNs mounted on your backup proxy server. If this looks good, please contact our support and have them investigate this further for you. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests