vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Migration to VCSA 6.5

Veeam Logoby sconley » Mon Jan 23, 2017 10:08 pm 1 person likes this post

Now that 9.5 update 1 is out I am starting to look at moving to vSphere 6.5 and vCenter 6.5. I would like to move away from the Windows based vCenter server and migrate to the VCSA. If I use VMware's vCenter Server Migration tool to migrate to the VCSA can I expect to encounter the issues discussed in this KB https://www.veeam.com/kb2136 (namely my backups will stop working and require an active full)? Or can I expect things to "just work" since the migration tool migrates the ID of the old vCenter server to the new one?
sconley
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:36 pm
Full Name: Sean Conley

Re: Migration to VCSA 6.5

Veeam Logoby lohelle » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:00 am 3 people like this post

I did this upgrade/migration this weekend.
After the migration to VCSA, I started upgrading some host. It is important that you to a rescan of VC/hosts after the upgrade, as I got backup failures before I did that. After a rescan, everything worked as before.
The first run was not an active full, but it seems that CBT was reset automatically, as first run seemed to read all data from the VMDKs (but only transferred the changes)
lohelle
Service Provider
 
Posts: 77
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:45 am
Full Name: Lars O Helle

Re: Migration to VCSA 6.5

Veeam Logoby sconley » Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:17 pm 1 person likes this post

Excellent. I can deal with backups taking longer due to CBT being reset, but was not looking forward to the possibility of new active fulls or having to work some database magic to avoid this. I will just make sure to do the upgrade on a weekend (which would be standard anyway) so that the backup window does not interfere with production.

Thanks for the info.
sconley
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:36 pm
Full Name: Sean Conley

[MERGED] vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby northeast100 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:56 pm

Gents,

I'm looking for some feedback for individuals that have gone from Windows vCenter 5.5 to the linux appliance 6.5 and used the vCenter Migration tool provided by VMware. Given that all config data is migrated to the new vcenter, did you still need to use the Veeam Migration Tool as well?

Looking for any input possible

Thanks!
-Northeast
northeast100
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:45 pm

Based on the information provided by VMware, usage of Veeam Migration Tool won't be required, as MoRef IDs will stay intact.

The second stage configures the VCSA 6.5 and imports the source Windows vCenter Server data. This includes the identity of the source Windows vCenter server. The vCenter Server identity includes FQDN, IP address, UUID, Certificates, MoRef IDs, etc. As far as other solutions that communicate with vCenter Server nothing has changed.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14722
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby AndyGDIT » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:08 pm

Veeam was not necessary for us, we have several vCenters and migrated them all with the built in tool, only ran into a few issues with some of the older ones that were upgraded several times.
AndyGDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:15 pm
Full Name: Andrew Frye

[MERGED] vcenter 5.5 windows to VCSA 6.5Update 1

Veeam Logoby lukejf » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:52 am

Hi Guys
We are about to migrate from vcenter 5.5 on a windows hosts to 6.5 vcsa. Previous vcenter upgrades have required using the veeam tool to match MoRef for the virtual machines in veeam . I read on the veeam tool KB the vcenter migration tool should now copy the MoRef so this is no longer an issue.
Can someone please confirm that is the case, as the article it points to is version 6.0 not 6.5. Also if this is the case, is it using the migration tool on the vcsa iso?

Cheers in advance.
lukejf
Service Provider
 
Posts: 54
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:15 am
Full Name: Luke

Re: vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi Luke, please see above, you should be fine with vsca 6.5.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16226
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby lukejf » Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:25 am

Awesome, thanks Foggy :)
lukejf
Service Provider
 
Posts: 54
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:15 am
Full Name: Luke

[MERGED] vCenter 5.5 to VCSA 6.0.m2 upgrade using VMware Mig

Veeam Logoby uhoh » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:59 pm

Hello everyone,

First time posting here so I offer a newbies apology in advance if I deviate from proper forum etiquette/decorum.

The situation: We plan to upgrade our vcenter to VCSA using the VMware Migration Tool which will import the old vcenter's db and configuration, the MO Ref ID's and use the vcenter's IP. Reading on this forum, the Veeam migration utility shouldn't be needed.

However I have been told by support that I probably will have to add the VCSA within Veeam even though the old and new IP's etc. (identities) are the same.
Obviously I want to make sure this goes smoothly because I have recently exerted a lot of time and effort seeding VM's at our new DR and and the thought of having to redo all of this from scratch makes me groan and feel really gloomy.

Game plan:

1) Perform the upgrade. During the migration the old vcenter will powered off by the Vmware utility
2) Verify Moref ID's are the same on VM's per VMware KB (assuming they will be the same, and the Veeam MO Ref Tool will not be needed)
2) Within Veeam rescan/refresh of the IP object that 'should' point to the vcsa then run a backup and replication of a single test VM to see what happens.
Best case = veeam recognizes the vcsa ( don't need to add) and the backups and replication job use existing chains and CBT is functional.
3) If errors > reboot Veeam server and retry

If still errors couple of options:
1) Veeam suport said to add the VCSA and as remove and re-add each VM for each job and to rempa source to target replicas - I will then need to remove the old vcenter which is powered off. I have no idea if this will throw errors - it just seems messy and a little dicey not to mention I don't know the proper veeam reconfigure sequence to follow. add first then remove etcetera...

2) Change nothing and failback by powering off the vcsa powering on the old vcenter and regroup. We have discussed potentially doing an in-place up grade on the 2008 R2 vcenter and plan a vcsa migration at a later date.

Group Questions:

1)Will I have to actually delete and re- add the VCSA ( using the same ip address) and then re-add VM's within each job? And If so, what is the best procedure to follow to ensure success?
2)replication steps - will I need to actually re-add and/or remap replicas?
3)Does anyone have reconfiguration documentation regarding this? I have looked for Veeam documentaion (no luck) so if you have been through this please share w/me what worked, and any gotchas....PLEASE help me be successful - we are forging ahead the day after (gulp) tomorrow.

Thanks in advance for your comments!
uhoh
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm

Re: vCenter 5.5 to VCSA 6.0.m2 upgrade using VMware Mig Tool

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:37 am

Hi and welcome to the community!

Is there a reason why do you want to stay with 6.0.m2 instead of latest 6.5 Update 1?
I'd recommend you to check existing discussion as it might contain the answers you're looking for. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1008
Liked: 105 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: vCenter 5.5 to VCSA 6.0.m2 upgrade using VMware Mig Tool

Veeam Logoby uhoh » Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:33 pm

Thanks Dgrinev.

Our project technical lead made the call but primarily it's because we have more combined expertise using the fat client and the feature set meets our needs.

I reviewed the link you included but I didn't see much as far as Veeam reconfiguration post VMWare migration/upgrade. The content is mostly geared toward the VMware migration itself - not Veeam reconfiguration. Still hoping there are Veeam admins who have upgraded and will share what they had to do on the Veeam side to ensure backup and replication worked properly after the upgrading and switching from a Windows VM to the VCSA.
uhoh
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm

Re: vCenter 5.5 to VCSA 6.0.m2 upgrade using VMware Mig Tool

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Hey,

Just came back from the Game plan discussion with the QA team.
They said migration should be smooth and clean without additional reconfiguration, since the VCSA will be available with the same address and all those improvements made by VMware for the migration process.
The major hint is to backup vCenter before the upgrade and initiate rescan right after it will be finished just in case. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1008
Liked: 105 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: vCenter 5.5 to VCSA 6.0.m2 upgrade using VMware Mig Tool

Veeam Logoby uhoh » Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:22 pm

Many thanks!
uhoh
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm

Re: vCenter Migration Toolkit and Veeam

Veeam Logoby uhoh » Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:20 pm

During a pre-migration check it was discovered there is veeam plug-in that needs to be removed to upgrade
Warning: This vCenter Server has extensions registered that cannot be upgraded to or may not work with the new vCenter Server.
Extensions:
com.veeam.backupui.VeeamBackupUi on https://Veeam1.ccfmaster.ccfusa.org:944 ... plugin.zip

Looks like I can uninstall it from within Enteprise Manager and I found a thread that it can be reinstalled and used with the VCSA.

My question: Will uninstalling this have any impact on my backups or replication after we migrate to the VCSA ? Unlike the MO ref ID issue, from what I can tell it's primarily used for reporting purposes, I think its non-essential but am being cautious and therefore posing the question to the group.
uhoh
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests