Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by arsprod » Jan 23, 2013 3:41 pm

I've been running all my replication and backups through vcenter. Because of some recent issues with the vcenter server I changed all the jobs to local hosts. Now that I've resolved the vcenter issues I'm wondering if it's better to leave them replicating/backing up directly to standalone hosts or move back to vcenter. Is there a performance difference? Advantages/disadvantages to vcenter?

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by kjc3303 » Jan 23, 2013 4:51 pm 1 person likes this post

If you move VM's between hosts you do not need to change Veeam jobs is one benefit of using vcenter

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23183
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 23, 2013 7:58 pm

The one and the most important one! :)

arsprod
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by arsprod » Jan 28, 2013 4:26 pm

thanks!

omorin
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2010 1:37 pm
Full Name: olivier morin
Location: Bergerac, France
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam Backup if Vcenter is out

Post by omorin » Feb 07, 2013 7:50 am

Bonjour,

My question is quite simple, can VBR still backup or replicate a VM if the vcenter is out ?

In other words, is it better to directly acces VM by the esx server address instead of vcenter address in case of vcenter indisponibility ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23183
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 07, 2013 8:38 am

omorin wrote:My question is quite simple, can VBR still backup or replicate a VM if the vcenter is out ?
If your backup jobs are configured to use vCenter Server connection, then it is not possible to continue running these jobs if your vCenter Server goes down.
omorin wrote:In other words, is it better to directly acces VM by the esx server address instead of vcenter address in case of vcenter indisponibility ?
No, it's not. Please see further clarification on this above. If I were you, the first thing I would do is recover the vCenter Server, if it is not possible, then of course the only option you have is to add standalone hosts and run your backup jobs using direct connection to the ESX(i) hosts.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5787
Liked: 1655 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by dellock6 » Feb 07, 2013 9:10 am 1 person likes this post

Another great reason to keep vCenter in a virtual machine. In case of problems, repidly boot vCenter from Instant VM Recovery and restart every activity from here.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

[MERGED] Add Server: VMWare vSphere or ESX/ESXi

Post by flavor4real » Jun 25, 2013 2:29 pm

It is the recommendation to utilize the VMWare vSphere when it comes to Veeam. Now, is it possible to add several ESX/ ESXi connections instead of utilizing vSphere?

The point is to eliminate the single point of failure "vCenter" in the event of a vCenter crash.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by foggy » Jun 25, 2013 4:06 pm

Of course, you can add standalone ESX/ESXi hosts to Veeam B&R console (and it is the way to go in some particular cases, for example, when backing up vCenter VM). However, in case of moving VM's between hosts you will need to readd them to the corresponding jobs as their moref IDs will be changed during the migration. On the other hand, vCenter is vMotion-aware and your jobs will continue to run normally if they point to vCenter.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17047
Liked: 1470 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by veremin » Jun 26, 2013 8:03 am

Also, kindly don’t mix two approaches in one environment. Having ESX(i) host added to backup console as a standalone server and as a part of vCenter might result in some issues. Thanks.

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by flavor4real » Jun 26, 2013 12:55 pm

I see. So the best practice remains to have a vCenter connection setup. If vCenter fails, then I simple setup the esx/esxi connection and restore the vCenter VM.

I just thought to have the vCenter connection for all jobs, and a additional esx/esxi connection which would utilized for one backup strategy only, the vCenter backup/restore.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17047
Liked: 1470 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by veremin » Jun 26, 2013 1:03 pm

Yep, as mentioned above, you can create an additional job, using ESX(i) host as a standalone server, in order to backup vCenter VM that resides on it.

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by foggy » Jun 26, 2013 1:04 pm

flavor4real wrote:I just thought to have the vCenter connection for all jobs, and a additional esx/esxi connection which would utilized for one backup strategy only, the vCenter backup/restore.
Here is the dedicated topic regarding backing up vCenter, just FYI: Backup Replicate vCenter VM?

ttester
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2013 2:41 am
Full Name: Jay
Contact:

[MERGED] : Veeam Replicate to host or vcenter?

Post by ttester » Dec 23, 2013 2:55 am

Just a best practice question: Is it better to add all hosts under infrastructure or just the vcenter? I was thinking of using only the hosts as it would make the vcenter a single point of failure for all hosts.

I'm only using veeam to create replicas that get put on a NAS.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17047
Liked: 1470 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by veremin » Dec 23, 2013 8:06 am

Hi, Jay,

Your post has been merged into existing discussion regarding similar issue.

Having VMs added to backup console via vCenter makes backup/replication jobs vMotion aware. So to say, if some of the VMs is moved to different host, the jobs will be able to track this change, keeping backing up/replicating it without any issue. This isn't the same with standalone hosts.

For more information, please, refer to posts provided above.

Thanks.

KristiEva
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2014 5:11 pm
Full Name: Kristin Anderson

[MERGED] Any Disadvantages of Repl./Failover to DR Site w/o

Post by KristiEva » Nov 18, 2014 6:35 pm

I was wondering if anyone knew what the real benefits seen, (specifcally for replication & failover/failback operations), are when using Veeam with VCenter Server as opposed to working directly with the ESXi hosts?

The reason I'm asking is because in my environment, (a production site on one network (10.3.1.x) and my DR site on another (10.4.1.x), there seems to be only disadvantages to running jobs through VCenter server appliance (VCSA). The biggest disadvantage that I've come across that has been covered a bit on these forums is that in the event of my production site being destroyed (or the VCSA being otherwise unreachable by Veeam) I would have to manually spin up my VCSA replica at the DR site.

That sounds easy enough, until I consider the fact that I would have to update its IP address to communicate on the DR site network which could potentially cause some other issues & configuration work to be done before it could be used for failing over VMs (for example updating VCServer services, disconnecting/reconnecting hosts, etc).



In my environment where I'm using Veeam strictly for replication and failover to a DR site, would it not make more sense to run my replication jobs directly on the Hosts? That way in the even of a disaster nothing would have to be done with the VCSA and I could begin to failover VM's immediately?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vcenter vs standalone hosts

Post by foggy » Nov 19, 2014 10:23 am

Kristin, please find some considerations in the topic above.

As to re-IP issue, if you have Veeam B&R server responsible for replication located in your DR site, you can execute failover/failback procedure for vCenter machine. During this operation vCenter can be re-IPed automatically.

Btw, here is another good topic discussing similar questions: Question about failover with replication

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 17 guests