Vcenter vs VCSA - VMware 6

VMware specific discussions

Vcenter vs VCSA - VMware 6

Veeam Logoby larry » Fri May 01, 2015 8:24 pm

Mainly with regards to Veeam. When upgrading to VMware 6.0 does it matter if I use Vcenter vs VCSA. I have 6 esxi host and have HP p4000 SAN and am getting some Netapp FAS2552 boxes. I am leaning towards the VCSA because our SQL express data base fills up when doing lots of replications or storing statics. If you have a strong option for a reasons besides Veeam go ahead and post . I am using Veeam 8.
larry
Expert
 
Posts: 372
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker

Re: Vcenter vs VCSA - VMware 6

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri May 01, 2015 11:02 pm

Hi, Larry. B&R 8.0 Update 2 has been tested with both, so from Veeam perspective, there is no difference. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Vcenter vs VCSA - VMware 6

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Sat May 02, 2015 6:57 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,

Don't Forget that under vcenter 6.0 the sql express database is converted to vPostgresql one
So vcenter or vcsa the 10GB limit is past ;)
According to vsphere6 configuration maximums the Windows vpostgres embedeed database scale up to 20 hosts or 200 VMs

Have fun,
Boris
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidburke84, DGrinev, foggy, Google [Bot] and 34 guests