Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
hzhang@nowcom.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Full Name: Howard Zhang
Contact:

Veeam 6.5 Enterprise for Exchange Server 2010

Post by hzhang@nowcom.com » Mar 11, 2013 7:36 pm

Hi,

I installed a trial version of 6.5 Enterprise with Exchange AIR WIZARD 6.5. My question is if I can use Veeam to backup physical Exchange 2010 DAG servers or databases. Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Enterprise for Exchange Server 2010

Post by veremin » Mar 11, 2013 7:41 pm

Veeam Backup & Replication is built specifically for virtualization, so there is no way to backup/replicate physical servers.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

chrisdearden
Expert
Posts: 1530
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Enterprise for Exchange Server 2010

Post by chrisdearden » Mar 11, 2013 7:43 pm 1 person likes this post

If you have the licencing available , build a virtual DAG node with passive copies of all your DB's - you can then make use of the Veeam Exchange Explorer for our advanced mailbox item level discovery and recovery.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24416
Liked: 3402 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Enterprise for Exchange Server 2010

Post by Gostev » Mar 13, 2013 2:32 pm

Also, if you are using Exchange 2010, you do not really need to use AIR wizard... just use Veeam Explorer for Exchange instead.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests