Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

VMware specific discussions

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:21 pm

You can right-click Veeam B&R hive in registry editor, select Permissions and give rights to corresponding accounts. However, again, we haven't tested Veeam B&R console operation without elevation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:38 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.

No i cant.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:47 am

foggy wrote:You can right-click Veeam B&R hive in registry editor, select Permissions and give rights to corresponding accounts. However, again, we haven't tested Veeam B&R console operation without elevation.


Well can you test it?
Server\users has a read permissions to hklm\software\veeam , should that be enough?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:04 pm

Yes, read access should be enough.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:26 pm

It's still asking for elevation :(
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:22 pm

Seems that permissions are required regardless of whether you're going to perform restores or not then and my assumption on the first page was not correct.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:24 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.

I dont have license for veeam ONE.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:33 pm

That's a pity, in this case try to take a look at Enterprise Manager that should give basic information about job states, maybe it can help in your case.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19771
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Tech471 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:31 pm

Another idea is to enable email notifications and check the "Notify on warning" and "Notify on failure" boxes under Options > Email settings.

Speaking of which I have a quick question re: warnings vs failures. If a job throws the warning "Guest processing skipped" isn't this essentially the same as a failure? If not what exactly is the difference?
Tech471
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:23 pm
Full Name: Hank Vare

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:42 am

Hank, It depends on your setting defined over here, it can be both a failure and a warning > Application-Aware Processing
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19771
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:56 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:That's a pity, in this case try to take a look at Enterprise Manager that should give basic information about job states, maybe it can help in your case.


Hi!

We cannot use EM, since it totally messes up our restoration process.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:42 am

Can you please clarify that? You can use EM for monitoring, and keep doing restores with your current approach.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19771
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:56 am

Our restores via guest interaction proxies will stop functioning, if we install EM. We tried to found the reason for that with your support but with no success. The problem went away the moment we uninstalled EM.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:09 pm

In this case I would suggest to re-open a ticket with our support team to find out the reason for this behavior (or try to deploy EM on another machine, not on the backup server).
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19771
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby salzsieder » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:11 am

Are there plans to provide the Veeam console without admin rights? We have absolutely no possibility to assign local administrative rights. With > 240 sockets licensed this is very unfortunate. Thanks.
salzsieder
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:26 am

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests