VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

VMware specific discussions

VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby pacegmbh » Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:58 am

Hi there,

we've got following setup:

One vCenter Standard Server named vCSA with three hosts attached (Enterprise Plus licenses) with shared storage attached.
One VEEAM Proxy server. because the proxy server can serve all three hosts and has access to all datastores the hosts have got.

One vCenter Essentials Server named vCSAe with three hosts attached (Essentials license) each host has got only local storage.
One VEEAM Proxy server for each Host.

Backups are working like a charm. :D

Today I had to restore one VM which belongs to vCSA.
After starting the restore job I first received an error. This forum helped me to get rid of it, switching the Backup Proxy on VCSA from Appliance to Network mode.
Now the VM is getting restored.

A couple of minutes after starting the job users complained about poor performance of VM running on one of the essentials hosts.
Because they shouldn't have something to do with the restore job I first thought one of the users would've been using lots of resources.
After starting vCenter and connected to vCSAe i noticed one of the backup proxies claiming a huge amount of of resources.

As it appears VEEAM restores the VM for vCSA over the backup proxy on vCSAe.

Has anyone got an idea how this can happen or how I can make sure VEEAM is going to chose the right proxy in future?

Thanks for your support
John
pacegmbh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:54 am
Full Name: J.Busch

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:39 pm

John, basically, proxy selection algorithm is as follows. If automatic proxy selection is used, Veeam B&R selects the most efficient proxy in terms of source data retrieval transport mode (direct SAN is preferred over hotadd, which is, in its turn, preferred over network mode). Network access mode backup proxy servers are selected based on their subnet (proxy located on the same subnet as the processed host is preferable). If no such backup proxy is found, the first least-busy proxy is selected (the one with least tasks currently assigned). Hope, this explains why the wrong proxy was selected in your case.

You can manually select the proxies that are available for the particular restore task while going through the Restore Wizard ('Restore Mode' step, 'Pick proxy to use' link).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby pacegmbh » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:19 am

Hi Foggy,

thanks for your help.
I missed the Proxy selection.
After choosing the right Proxy for the right host everythings works as expected.

Brgds,
John
pacegmbh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:54 am
Full Name: J.Busch

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:17 am

Glad to hear that you’ve nailed down your issue. Should any additional help be needed, don’t hesitate to let us know. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby Nilsn » Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:12 pm

Hi
Sorry for draging a old thread up like this but we have the same issue, the "automatic select" does not understand more complex setups.
In our environment it mostly picks the wrong proxy.
We have set static proxys on every job to handle the load and access to networks in a correct way.
The best would be if the "autmatic proxy selection" took one of the proxys that is used in the job for the VM when restored, would solve it for us at least.
As it is now we have to check what job the vm is in, and not the proxy, then pick the proxy when restoring.
Nilsn
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:12 am
Full Name: Nils

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby SyNtAxx » Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:06 pm

I think it would be nice if the veeam services could query AD sites and services to locate a veeam proxy. Register a service record then Use sites n services to locate the proxies. Maybe more trouble than its worth though.

-NIck
SyNtAxx
Expert
 
Posts: 127
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: VEEAM chooses wrong Proxy when doing a Restore Job

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:17 pm

Well, the thing is - I can only see potential issues when using Network (NBD) transport for restores. I don't see how wrong proxy can possibly be picked when using Hot Add or Direct SAN transport. And we always recommend having at least one hot add capable backup proxy per cluster, specifically for handling restores efficiently.

Nils, can you confirm if you are using Network transport? Because in that case, I think I have an idea for a more robust solution than relying on AD sites (especially since AD is not always present anyway).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], SyNtAxx, Urbanred and 24 guests