Veeam Replica re-IP

VMware specific discussions

Veeam Replica re-IP

Veeam Logoby pzaloum » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:43 pm

Hello
I was recently testing a replica failover with re-IP scenario and discovered that the replica had booted in DHCP mode. Also noticed on first logon that the server was installing a new hardware device. It seems that the re-IP occurred correctly (per the registry) but the now active network adapter is a "new" one with a new MAC and no networking configuration applied.

This seems to be discussed here: https://www.veeam.com/blog/mac-address- ... apter.html
And a workaround was mentionned for Veeam v5.

This is no small issue, how have others dealt with this situation?

It also has applicable concerns with certain software that uses the MAC address as an identifier for product licensing. Looking at my replicas only the NICs with manual MAC addresses have carried over, all the others have been renumbered. It was my understanding that replicas kept all characteristics of their source VM.

Patrick
pzaloum
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:49 pm
Full Name: Patrick Zaloum

Re: Veeam Replica re-IP

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:48 pm

Which OS do you use with what patch level? Which network card.
Windows 2012 had once an issue where the new network card is detected on a new PCI-E bus and lost it´s IP. Latest patch level should be installed to avoid this.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2289
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Veeam Replica re-IP

Veeam Logoby pzaloum » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:26 pm

I've been able to replicate the behavior with Windows 2008r2 and a Windows 7, both latest patch level. Haven't attempted other OS's but that shouldn't be relevant.
pzaloum
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:49 pm
Full Name: Patrick Zaloum

Re: Veeam Replica re-IP

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:39 am

Windows 2008R2 was affected by the PCI-E (VMXnet3/E1000e) new ID bug as well.

There are 2 fixes that I am aware of:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2344941 for pre Update1
and
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2550978 for post Update 1
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2289
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest