Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

VMware specific discussions

Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby others78 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:00 am

Hello,
I have already the standard NFS Service from Windows. So I'm not able to start also the Veeam vPower NFS Service (same port 161).
How can I change the vPower NFS's port?
I need the NFS's windows service (I don't want to disable it).

Regards
others78
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:36 pm
Full Name: Others

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:52 pm

Hello, you have to look for changing Windows NFS port number, otherwise ESX will be connecting to Windows NFS server instead of vPower NFS server. Alternatively, you should use different server to install Veeam Backup on. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby others78 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:20 am

Mmhh.
ESX will connect to my Windows NFS because I have the ISO's repository. So I need it. And I don't want to install Veeam to an other server.
If I change the Windows NFS port, I can't mount the ISO repository because the port is different from the standard (161).

The Vpower NFS server is only used in order to use the "Instant Recover" function?

Regards,
others78
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:36 pm
Full Name: Others

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:29 pm

others78 wrote:If I change the Windows NFS port, I can't mount the ISO repository because the port is different from the standard (161)

Yep, this is exactly the reason why you cannot do this for vPower NFS either ;)

others78 wrote:The Vpower NFS server is only used in order to use the "Instant Recover" function?

Also for application item recovery, multi-OS file level recovery, SureBackup and on-demand sandbox. But Instant VM Recovery feature alone is more than enough reason to have it. Why cannot you simply provision new VM and install Veeam Backup there?

Why not just remove Windows NFS altogether, and use vPower NFS as your ISO repository instead? Trust me, it is so much better than Windows NFS... we know this first hand - our original plan for was was to rely on Windows NFS for all vPower functionality, but eventually we were forced to invest significant (and unplanned) effort in implement our own NFS server from scratch. The only drawback here is that, of course, the vPower functionality performance will be affected due to extra load from NFS clients reading ISO data.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Changing Veeam NFS Service Ports

Veeam Logoby mpozar » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:33 am

[merged]

We are experiencing an issue with Veeam NFS and with Veeam support we have tracked it dow to the fact that there is a conflict with one of the Ports used by Veeam NFS (111/135, 1058 and 2049). The port in question is 111 and is being used by the CA ArcServe software we also have running on our physical Veeam backup Server that copies the Veeam Backup files onto tape for offsite storage.

Is there a way to change the PORTS being used by Veeam NFS?

I am also investigating the possibility of changing the ArcServer port.

Have FUN!
Michael
mpozar
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:46 am

Hi Michael, 111 is the standard port allocated to NFS. If you change it, VMware will simply not be able to see the NFS storage Veeam implements. Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby adrianmarsh » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:15 pm

Hi I have a similar problem with Netbackup running on the same server. NB requires the windows NFS portmapper service, on 111.
So is there no way to change the port number, or perhaps if I setup a second IP on the NIC, can I specify which NIC to use ?
adrianmarsh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:11 pm
Full Name: adrian marsh

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:55 pm

Hello Adrian, could you tell me if you've considered using vPower NFS for NetBackup server and removing Windows NFS altogether?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19541
Liked: 1098 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby adrianmarsh » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:30 pm

Hi Vitaliy,

I haven't no as I've no idea how I would do that, or if NB would work with it ?

At the moment I'm fighting issues with GRT restore in Netbackup (with Symantec support), so I want to resolve those first before I make anything more complicated. Is there anything documenting it ??
adrianmarsh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:11 pm
Full Name: adrian marsh

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:32 pm

Disregard Vitaly's suggestion. He means that if you are using this box as NFS server to share some files, then you could potentially share those files through vPower NFS.

However, if you need windows NFS portmapper service on 111 because NB requires it, then this is not an option.

Unfortunately, there is little you could do here - the only option is to either remove NB, or install Veeam elsewhere.

Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby theark » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:42 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Adrian, could you tell me if you've considered using vPower NFS for NetBackup server and removing Windows NFS altogether?


how do I go about connecting to Veeam V Power as an NFS server? I've tried just connecting to the servers IP on a mac using NFS but it cannot connect.
theark
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:40 am

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:53 pm

I believe the steps should be the same as if you connect to an ordinary NFS server. As regards your error...could you please tell me if your ESX(i) host can successfully connect to this vPower NFS server?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19541
Liked: 1098 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby iroche » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:43 am

I came up against this one as well, from my reading of this thread it would seem its possible to leverage the Veeam NFS server to create a standard NFS share ? If my understanding is correct can anyone fill me in on how this is done. Also I presume if again this is doable and the NFS share is heavily utilized it will have a negative impact on Veeam restores ?

Thanks as always
Ian
iroche
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:27 am
Location: Ireland
Full Name: Ian Roche

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:46 am

Hi Ian, just put the files you need to share in the vPower NFS root folder that you specified during setup. Of course, just like with any shared resource, the more clients will be using the NFS server concurrently, the less performance each client will get. Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam vPower NFS Service same port

Veeam Logoby DonFirst » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:50 am

I had a similar problem which i resolve.
Solution is to change the setting of auto-start CASportmapper service from Automatic to Automatic (Deleyed start)
Regards
Don
DonFirst
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:25 pm
Full Name: DonFirst

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dima P., Exabot [Bot], stehei and 29 guests